, PJ O'Shea Stakes - Eagle Farm Racecourse - Brisbane Winter Carnival
horse racing info

PJ O'Shea Stakes

The PJ O'Shea Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held annually in late May or early June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 2200 metres and worth $250,000 in prize money. The 2019 PJ O'Shea Stakes was won by Kenedna from Sixties Groove with Re Edit third.

Raced recently as the 'Eagle Farm Cup' and usually held on Gr1 Queensland Oaks Day during the three-day Eagle Farm racing carnival. The PJ O'Shea Stakes was abandoned for the 2015/2016 racing season after the Oaks Day meeting was cancelled due to inclement weather.


PJ O'Shea Stakes

Date: Saturday 5th June 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2200 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $250,000
2019 Winner: Kenedna

The PJ O'Shea Stakes is a weight-for-age distance race over 2200m that suits the classier types entered due to the level weights conditions of the event. The race often attracts a quality galloper and has been won by some very good horses over the years, including Yippio (2001), Intergaze (1998), The Phantom Chance (1996) and Rough Habit (1995).

Horses from this race may go on to tackle the Gr2 Brisbane Cup over 2400m the following week at the same track. Lights Of Heaven (2012) was the last galloper to take out the PJ O'Shea Stakes & Brisbane Cup double, while Scenic Shot (2009) also managed the same feat three years earlier. Moriarty (4th in 2013) won the Brisbane Cup at his next start after running fourth in this race.

A race such as the Gr3 Tattersall's Cup over 2200m on Gr1 Winter Stakes day on the final day of the Eagle Farm carnival may also be on the agenda for horses contesting this event.

The Gr1 Doomben Cup has proven to be a reliable guide to this race over the years and Kenedna (2019) was the last galloper to win the Doomben Cup & PJ O'Shea Stakes double,. Lights Of Heaven (2012) finished runner-up on her way to scoring in this race.

In recent times Glass Harmonium (2011), Triple Honour (2010), Natural Blitz (2005) and Pentastic (2004) all placed in the Doomben Cup before winning this race, while Sixties Groove (3rd in 2019), Rampant Lion (2nd in 2008) & Gaze (2nd in 2007) placed in both races.

Kenedna (2019) captured the Doomben Cup over 2000m at Doomben before proving a class above her rivals in this event for Caulfied based training duo Ciaron Maher & David Eustace.

Recent PJ O'Shea Stakes winners include Egg Tart (2018) and Single Gaze (2017).

2019 PJ O'Shea Stakes result

1. $3.80 Kenedna 57.0 John Allen
2. $3.60 Sixties Groove 59.0 Damien Oliver
3. $31.00 Re Edit 54.0 Robbie Fradd

then followed
4. $4.40 Life Less Ordinary 59.0 Corey Brown
5. $4.40 Shillelagh 57.0 James McDonald
6. $101.00 Mrs Madrid 54.0 Larry Cassidy
7. $15.00 Tally 59.0 Tim Clark
8. $26.00 Big Duke 59.0 Brenton Avdulla
9. $41.00 Stars Of Carrum 56.0 Michael Cahill
10. $101.00 Sampson 59.0 Mark Du Plessis
11. $91.00 On The Rocks 59.0 Jake Bayliss

Margins: 1.75 len, 0.20 len
Time: 2:14.47

Bet now on the PJ OShea Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best PJ OShea Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

PJ OShea Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Kenedna Sixties Groove Re Edit 2:14.4
2018 Egg Tart Tradesman Megablast 2:20.7
2017 Single Gaze Rudy High Church 2:19.2
2015 Werther Moriarty Epingle 2:17.2
2014 Moriarty Mr O'Ceirin Floria 2:16.3
2013 Quintessential Manighar Voila Ici 2:19.5
2012 Lights Of Heaven Scenic Shot Ginga Dude 2:19.0
2011 Glass Harmonium Shoot Out Scenic Shot 2:15.1
2010 Triple Honour Raffaello Newport 2:14.3
2009 Scenic Shot Mirkola Lass Fulmonti 2:20.9
2008 Scenic Shot Rampant Lion Dougs Mate 2:19.2
2007 Pentathon Gaze Grand Zulu 2:17.9
2006 Mahtoum Art Success Gorgeous George 2:30.7
2005 Natural Blitz Zumanity Regal Punch 2:30.0
2004 Pentastic Maze Another Warrior 2:28.7
2003 Maguire County Tyrone Grey Song 2:30.5
2002 Hey Pronto Freemason Prized Gem 2:28.1
2001 Yippyio Citi Habit King Keitel 2:25.6
2000 Kens Joy Make Mine Magic Yippyio 2:28.7
1999 Sharscay Cronus Reputed Groom 2:40.5
1998 Intergaze Sapio Star Covet 2:29.2
1997 Pakaraka Star Desert Chill Sharscay 2:36.6
1996 The Phantom Chance French Resort Dupain 2:28.2
1995 Rough Habit Oppressor Desert Chill 2:26.7
1994 Full Suit Potential Star Cross Swords 2:27.1
1993 Dark Ksar Air Seattle Cool Affair 2:30.3
1992 Mountain Rule Mr Eurostar Zinders 2:29.5
1991 Magnolia Hall =1 Spring Thaw =1 Aquidity 2:32.6
1990 Shuzohra Chill Factor Dr Grace 2:32.2
1989 Card Shark Tawrrific Coshking 2:35.4
1988 Lord Hybrow Cark Shark Colour Page 2:31.6

The 2018 PJ O'Shea Stakes was held at the Sunshine Coast, while the 2016 edition never took place.