horse racing info

Up and Coming Stakes Preview

The Up And Coming Stakes is a Group 3 event for three-year-old colts & geldings held at Randwick racecourse in Sydney each August. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Up And Coming Stakes was won by Master Ash from Danawi with Smart Elissim third.

Taking place on Group 2 Winx Stakes day, alongside the female equivalent of this race, the Gr3 Silver Shadow Stakes, the Up And Coming Stakes was held at Randwick for the 2014/2015 racing season.

Up and Coming Stakes info

Date: Saturday 24th August 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: 3yo C&G - Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Master Ash

The Up and Coming Stakes provides the ideal follow up race from the Gr3 San Domenico Stakes run earlier in the new season at Rosehill. It suits those three-year-olds looking for a step up in distance after the shorter trip of the San Domenico. Manawanui (2011) went on to win the $1,000,000 Group 1 Golden Rose at Rosehill after winning this race.

Always a good returning race for talented three-year-olds gearing up for a spring campaign, the race is often often won by a classy 3yo, as evidenced by the honour roll of past winners.

Top class gallopers Fastnet Rock (2004), Exceed and Excel (2003), Testa Rossa (1999) and the flying General Nediym (1997) have all won this race and each of these gallopers went on to become genuine stars of the turf.

Competitors from this event might head on the other 3yo races held during the spring including the Gr3 Spring Stakes at Newcastle or the Gr3 Gloaming Stakes at Rosehill, which both take place in September.

Master Ash (2018) finished runner-up to The Fire Trap in a 2YO Handicap race at Rosehill over 1800m before scoring here for the Gai Waterhouse & Adrian Bott stable.

Recent Up And Coming Stakes winners include Dracarys (2017) and Divine Prophet (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

2018 Up And Coming Stakes

1. $9.00 Master Ash 53.0 Tim Clark
2. $7.00 Danawi 53.0 James Innes Jnr
3. $3.60 Smart Elissim 53.0 Jason Collett

then followed
4. $26.00 Irukandji 58.5 Tommy Berry
5. $201.00 Momentum Factor 53.0 Andrew Adkins
6. $4.40 Military Zone 53.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $5.00 Spin 58.5 James McDonald
8. $11.00 Encryption 59.0 Glyn Schofield
9. $31.00 The Enzo 55.0 Joshua Parr
10. $31.00 Altair 53.0 Jay Ford

Margins: 1 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:16.91

Bet now on the Up And Coming Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Up And Coming Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Up And Coming Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Master Ash Danawi Smart Elissim 1:16.9
2017 Dracarys Gold Standard Sanctioned 1:14.7
2016 Divine Prophet Derryn Thronum 1:16.6
2015 Shards Voilier Sebring Sun 1:16.3
2014 Scissor Kick Panzer Division Valentia 1:18.7
2013 War Drago Vilanova 1:16.6
2012 Albrecht Toydini Tatra 1:16.2
2011 Manawanui Queenian Detours 1:20.0
2010 Blackball Buffering Sea Lord 1:10.9
2009 Rarefied Shellscrape Offhanded 1:09.9
2008 Dreamscape Aichi Duporth 1.11.8
2007 Race not run
2006 Court Command Stormpede Diego Garcia 1:10.7
2005 Snitzel Stratum Denmarket 1:09.8
2004 Fastnet Rock Dane Shadow Public Opinion 1:10.2
2003 Exceed And Excel Danbird Hipwell 1:11.8
2002 Snowland Star Of Florida Eastwest Success 1:06.9
2001 Newquay Perfect Crime Excellerator 1:11.2
2000 Zariz Century Kid Kootoomootoo 1:09.4
1999 Testa Rossa Easy Rocking Align 1:10.1
1998 Paris Dream Lauries Lottery Scotty Locharber 1:14.3
1997 General Nediym Encounter Pleasure Giver 1:09.0
1996 Paint Armidale Sovereign State 1:10.5
1995 Our Maizcay Flying Spur Catalan Opening 1:09.0
1994 Bulldog Yeats Yallahs Success Dapper Magic 1:12.0
1993 Mahogany Stormy Regent Jetball 1:09.3
1992 West End Centakima Surtee 1:09.9
1991 Kinjite On Kileys Run Skilful Star 1:12.1
1990 The Bullfighter Bureaucracy Wave Power 1:11.5
1989 Patronise Stylish Century Straussbrook 1:09.8
1988 Star Watch Full And By Ideal Score 1:08.9