, Winx Stakes Preview - Randwick - Winners, Results, Odds, Info
horse racing info

Winx Stakes

The Winx Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race that takes place at Randwick racecourse each August in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2020 Winx Stakes was won by Verry Elleegant from Star Of The Seas with Fierce Impact third.

Held on the same day as the Gr3 Up And Coming Stakes & Gr3 Silver Shadow Stakes for theee-year-olds, the Winx Stakes generally takes place at Warwick Farm racecourse but will be held at Randwick this season.

This race was renamed the 'Winx Stakes' for the 2018-2019 season in honour of champion race mare, Winx.

Winx Stakes info

Date: Saturday 21st August 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $500,000
2020 Winner: Verry Elleegant

The Winx Stakes is a weight-for-age event that typically suits good, fit winter types, classy sprinters, or staying types looking for a bit more ground. Any horses who might have went around in the Gr3 Missile Stakes a couple of weeks earlier are likely to continue on to this race and Pinwheel (2012) was the last galloper to take out the Missile Stakes & Winx Stakes double in the same year.

Some quality horses have saluted in the Winx Stakes over the years including Racing to Win (2008), Lonhro (2001-2003), Sunline (1999), Filante (1996-97), Super Impose (1990-91) and Groucho (1989), and horses contesting this event are most likely to head on to a race like the upcoming Chelmsford Stakes at Randwick.

The John O'Shea trained Complacent (unp in 2015) finished down the track in this race before winning the Chelmsford Stakes at his next start at big odds, while placegetters Danleigh (3rd in 2012), O'Lonhro (2nd in 2009) and Metal Bender (2010) all went on to win the Chelmsford Stakes at their next start. Typically the classiest horses will figure prominently in this race.

Better quality types might head on to a race like the Group 1 George Main Stakes at Randwick and Sacred Halls (4th in 2014) and Royal Descent (2nd in 2014) managed to quinella the George Main Stakes after running in the Winx Stakes.

Easier races such as the the Gr2 Tramway Stakes may also be on the agenda for gallopers contesting this race and Tiger Tees (2014) finished runner-up in the Tramway after winning this event, while Tagus (7th in 2012) won the Tramway at his next start after his unplaced run in the Winx Stakes.

Winx (2016-2018) resumed from a spring spell to win this race for the third year in a row for Sydney trainer Chris Waller. The champion mare excited the crowd with her explosive finish, scoring her 26th win in succession in the process. Winx broke Black Caviar's winning streak of 25 victories in the process, cementing herself as a great of the turf.

Samadoubt (2019) resumed from an autumn spell to score an upset victory in this event for the Bjorn Baker stable.

Recent Winx Stakes winners include Winx (2016-2018) and Royal Descent (2015).

2020 Winx Stakes result

1. $7.50 Verry Elleegant 57.0 James McDonald
2. $31.00 Star Of The Seas 59.0 Sam Clipperton
3. $15.00 Fierce Impact 59.0 Jason Collett

then followed
4. $31.00 Imaging 59.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
5. $6.00 Con Te Partiro 57.0 Tim Clark
6. $18.00 Niccanova 59.0 Regan Bayliss
7. $6.50 The Bostonian 59.0 Jay Ford
8. $31.00 Zebrowski 58.5 Koby Jennings
9. $19.00 Flit 56.5 Glyn Schofield
10. $17.00 Brandenburg 58.5 Ms Rachel King
11. $14.00 Melody Belle 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
12. $6.00 Master Of Wine 59.0 Tommy Berry
13. $21.00 Kolding 59.0 Glen Boss
14. $61.00 Quackerjack 59.0 Joshua Parr
15. $11.00 Dreamforce 59.0 Brenton Avdulla
16. $151.00 Wolfe 59.0 Adam Hyeronimus

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:23.26

Bet now on the Winx Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Winx Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Winx Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Verry Elleegant Star Of The Seas Fierce Impact 1:23.2
2019 Samadoubt Happy Clapper Invincible Gem 1:21.0
2018 Winx Invictus Prince D'argento 1:22.5
2017 Winx Foxplay Ecuador 1:21.8
2016 Winx Hartnell Rebel Dane 1:23.8
2015 Royal Descent Pornichet Messene 1:21.5
2014 Tiger Tees Royal Descent Criterion 1:27.7
2013 Veyron Streama Rain Affair 1:21.5
2012 Pinwheel Secret Admirer Danleigh 1:22.5
2011 Pinwheel Ilovethiscity Startsmeup 1:25.8
2010 Metal Bender Triple Honour Danleigh 1:24.2
2009 Trusting O'lonhro Mr Baritone 1:21.5
2008 Racing to Win Gallant Tess Danzippo 1:24.5
2007 Race not run
2006 Courts In Session Racing To Win Desert War 1:23.3
2005 Sir Dex Dizelle Sportsman 1:22.8
2004 Private Steer So Assertive Niello 1:22.7
2003 Lonhro Clangalang Defier 1:24.3
2002 Defier Lonhro Republic Lass 1:22.8
2001 Lonhro Diamond Dane Shogun Lodge 1:17.3
2000 Al Mansour Hire Celestial Choir 1:14.7
1999 Sunline Tie The Knot Referral 1:22.1
1998 What Can I Say Star Covet Tie The Knot 1:27.6
1997 Filante Quick Flick Juggler 1:21.0
1996 Filante Saintly Dupain 1:21.7
1995 Star Dancer Stony Bay Our Mr Woodman 1:23.7
1994 March Hare Slight Chance Kingston Bay 1:22.9
1993 Prince Of Praise Silk Ali Soho Square 1:22.3
1992 Shaftesbury Avenue Super Impose Quick Score 1:23.8
1991 Super Impose Livistona Lane Royal Creation 1:24.7
1990 Super Impose Eastern Classic Chaleyer 1:24.3
1989 Groucho Palace Revolt Card Shark 1:26.7
1988 Flotilla Never Quit Wong 1:22.4