, Cranbourne Cup Preview - Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Cranbourne Cup Preview

The Cranbourne Cup is a Open Handicap open handicap race held annually on a Sunday at Cranbourne racecourse during the Melbourne Spring racing carnival in mid October. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2020 Cranbourne Cup was won by Future Score from Odeon with Dr Drill third.

Cranbourne racecourse is located around 43 kilometres south-east of Melbourne on the South Gippsland Highway in Victoria. Held one day after Caulfield Guineas Day at Caulfield, the Cranbourne Cup is one of the bigger country cups on the provincial circuit.

Cranbourne Cup info

Date: Saturday 13th November 2021
Track: Cranbourne racecourse, Cranbourne
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $500,000
2020 Winner: Future Score

The Cranbourne Cup is an above average country cup with good prize money and is one of the bigger country cups on the racing calendar each year. The race tends to attract more than handy types most of the time who will continue to perform well in similar type country cups throughout the spring.

In recent times the Cranbourne Cup has produced a Sandown Classic winner in Sertorious (2nd in 2013), Melbourne Cup runner-up, On a Jeune (2004), and a Caulfield Cup third placegetter, Barbaricus (2nd in 2008).

Dr Drill (2019) took out a BM88 race over 1900m at Rosehill in Sydney before making the long trip south to win this event in comfortable style for the Ciaron Maher & David Eustace stable.

Recent Cranbourne Cup winners include Octabello (2018) and Folkswood (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

This race has proven an average guide to the major staying races in Melbourne during the spring carnival over the years. The winner is usually a more than handy stayer who is competitive in the city and stronger than the country class horses who normally contest this race.

Runaway ( 4th in 2018) captured the Gr3 Geelong Cup at his next start, while Pakal (2013) managed to win the Gr3 Carlyon Cup at Caulfield the following autumn.

Sertorius (2nd in 2013) won the Gr3 Bendigo Cup at Bendigo, finished second in the Gr2 Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington, before winning the Sandown Classic at Sandown. Vatuvei (8th in 2012) then won the Gr2 Moonee Valley Cup at Moonee Valley.

On a Jeune (2004) finished second in the 2005 Melbourne Cup the following year and Barbaricus (2nd in 2008) went on to run third next start in the Caulfield Cup before running second in the Group 1 Mackinnon Stakes on Derby Day.

Cranbourne Cup Day info

Gate open at 10:30am
Adults: $25
Concession: $20.
Kids under 18: Free
Members Reserve tickets - $25.00
No BYO Alcohol

Cranbourne Turf Club
Grant Street, Cranbourne
PO Box 37, Victoria 3977
Tel: 03-5996 1300

Cranbourne Track Map

Cranbourne race track has a circumference of 1700m with long runs to the first turns in all race starts. It has an uphill run from the 600m to the winning post and a straight length of 300m. The surface is well grassed and irrigated and the track races well all year round.

cranbourne track map

2019 Cranbourne Cup result

1. $3.00 Dr Drill 54.0 Craig Williams
2. $81.00 Naivasha 54.0 Damien Thornton
3. $6.50 Captain Cook 57.5 Ms Linda Meech

then followed
4. $4.80 So You Win 56.0 Damian Lane
5. $19.00 Volkstok'n'Barrell 58.0 Damien Oliver
6. $6.50 Plein Ciel 57.5 James McDonald
7. $41.00 Main Stage 54.0 Teodore Nugent
8. $8.00 Looks Like Elvis 56.0 Declan Bates
9. $19.00 Lord Fandango 54.5 Jamie Kah
10. $18.00 Savvy Oak 54.5 Brett Prebble

Margins: 1.75 len, 0.2 len
Time: 2:05.08

Bet now on the Cranbourne Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Cranbourne Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Cranbourne Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Future Score Odeon Dr Drill 2:04.7
2019 Dr Drill Naivasha Captain Cook 2:05.0
2018 Octabello Sully Furrion 2:06.0
2017 Folkswood Berisha Grey Lion 2:03.3
2016 Master Reset Adirondack Great Esteem 1:37.1
2015 Digitalism Kareeming Index Linked 2:08.6
2014 Mourinho More than Sacred Le Roi 2:06.4
2013 Pakal Sertorius Mourinho 2:06.3
2012 Midnight Martini Streets Away Streaky Fella 2:06.8
2011 Boom N Zoom Paddy OReilly Ginga Dude 2:06.6
2010 Starmon My Bentley Tube 2:06.8
2009 Sermon Stormhill The Sportsman 2.04:8
2008 Majestical Barbaricus Chantal Sally 2:03.1
2007 Emerald Jack Blue Collar Jack El Pretender 2:05.6
2006 Blue Collar Jack Octrivia Professional Lady 2:06.5
2005 Show Barry Tosen Dandy (Jpn) Irish Crusader 2:04.6
2004 On A Jeune Da Capo Bedouin 2:03.4
2003 Kattavia Out Of Options Pinstripe 2:07.5
2002 Eagle Rhythm Adolescence Hail 2:03.9
2001 Bush Padre Captivator Spirit Of Westbury 2:04.5
2000 Brave Chief Yammer Figurehead 2:02.6
1999 Figurehead Ihtiyati Light Work 2:02.4
1998 Lisas Game Rover Hurricane Storm 2:06.4
1997 Sweet Delight Rover Waterford Road 2:02.9
1996 Hereditas Dancing Sun Brilliant Poet 2:03.9
1995 Waikikamukau Yes Indeed Sky Burner 2:07.1
1994 Main Strike Paxmat Will Sari Club 2:10.4
1993 Anfitrion Golden Serpent Bon Precieux 2:07.5
1992 Big Barron Malahide Stylish Twig 2:11.7
1991 Newbury Star Centro Imperial Salute 2:05.1
1990 Universal Ambition Rays Hope Charged 2:08.6
1989 Our Watchman Cosign Our Magic Man 2:11.3
1988 Celtic Spirit Toyed Algonquin Club 2:08.6

The 2016 Cranbourne Cup was postponed due to inclement spring weather, forcing the race to be held in March 2017 during the autumn.