, Moonee Valley Cup - Moonee Valley Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Moonee Valley Cup

The Moonee Valley Cup is a Group 2 set weight and penalties event that takes place at Moonee Valley racecourse in October during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2500 metres and worth $500,000 in prize money. The 2019 Moonee Valley Cup was won by Hunting Horn from Mr Quickie with Downdraft third.

The Moonee Valley Cup is held alongside the Moonee Valley Racing Club's premier race of the spring, the Group 1 WS Cox Plate.

Moonee Valley Cup info

Date: Saturday 23rd October 2021
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $500,000
2019 Winner: Hunting Horn

The Moonee Valley Cup is the major distance race on Moonee Valley's biggest race day of the spring and while the race is only Gr2 status and does not have the prestige of the big spring races such as the Caulfield Cup and Melbourne Cup, it does have its own niche on the racing calendar for stayers.

Horses contesting this race may be either heading towards the Melbourne Cup, or simply be stayers not good enough for the major staying events and looking for something a bit easier and the Moonee Valley Cup fits the bill nicely.

Generally speaking, the Moonee Valley Cup will assemble above average stayers rather than the elite, although class gallopers Americain (2011) and Zipping (2006) have won the race in recent times. Most of the time the Moonee Valley Cup winner will simply be a more than handy type who'll prove to be the best stayer on the day.

Hunting Horn (2019) finished eighth in the Group 1 Irish Champion over 2012m at Leopardstown in Ireland before heading down under to win this event in stylish fashion for Irish trainer Aidan O'Brien.

Recent Moonee Valley Cup winners include Ventura Storm (2018) and Who Shot Thebarman (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

The Moonee Valley Cup hasn't been a great guide to the Melbourne Cup over the years and Kingston Rule (1990) was the last horse to win both races, although Prince Of Penzance (2nd in 2016) went on to win the Melbourne Cup with Michelle Payne aboard. Mr Prudent (2nd in 2002) placed in both races, while Brew (2nd in 2000) managed to win the Melbourne Cup in the same year. Precedence (2010) finished eighth in the Melbourne Cup after winning this race.

The Jarrod McLean trained Trap For Fools (2nd in 2018) went on to capture the Group 1 Emirates Stakes at Flemington on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup carnival.

Cismontane (3rd in 2017) headed to Flemington on Derby Day to score an exciting all the way victory in the Gr3 Hotham Handicap.

Precedence (2013) returned three years later to win this race before heading to Flemington to claim the Gr3 VRC Queen Elizabeth Stakes.

Americain (2011) went on to win the Gr2 Sandown Classic at Sandown after taking out the Moonee Valley Cup and prior to that Capecover (3rd in 2010) ran and Baughurst (2nd 2008) both went on to run second & third respectively in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes at Flemington on Emirates Stakes day.

Zipping (2006) won the Sandown Classic in four consecutive years from 2007 to 2010.

2019 Moonee Valley Cup

1. $4.20 Hunting Horn 56.0 Ryan Moore
2. $3.80 Mr Quickie 56.0 Luke Nolen
3. $3.90 Downdraft 56.5 John Allen

then followed
4. $4.40 Humidor 55.0 Damian Lane
5. $15.00 Ventura Storm 57.0 Mark Zahra
6. $31.00 Shraaoh 58.0 Nash Rawiller
7. $21.00 Alfarris 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $26.00 Etymology 56.5 Ben Melham

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.30 len
Time: 2:39.48

Bet now on the Moonee Valley Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Moonee Valley Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Moonee Valley Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Hunting Horn Mr Quickie Downdraft 2:39.4
2018 Ventura Storm Trap For Fools Libran 2:34.3
2017 Who Shot Thebarman Libran Cismontane 2:37.3
2016 Grand Marshal Who Shot Thebarman Pentathlon 2:41.4
2015 The United States Prince Of Penzance Bohemian Lily 2:34.4
2014 Prince Of Penzance Le Roi Au Revoir 2:36.0
2013 Precedence Shoreham Gotta Take Care 2:36.9
2012 Vatuvei Reuben Percival Ironstein 2:35.7
2011 Americain Tullamore Illo 2:36.4
2010 Precedence Above Average Capecover 2:38.9
2009 The Sportsman Irazu Think Money 2:37.3
2008 Gallopin Baughurst Ice Chariot 2:36.5
2007 Gallic Lazer Sharp Jukebox Johnny 2:36.5
2006 Zipping Show Barry Gallic 2:38.9
2005 Umbula Bazelle Kindjhal 2:45.1
2004 Another Warrior Rizon Hard To Get 2:37.1
2003 Frightening Legible County Tyrone 2:38.5
2002 Thong Classic Rain Gauge Mr Prudent 2:40.9
2001 Rain Gauge Spirit Of Westbury Big Pat 2;37.6
2000 Yippyio Brew Cronus 2:41.3
1999 Streak Cronus Second Coming 2:38.2
1998 Prince Standaan Skybeau Zdenka 2:36.3
1997 Court Of Honour Linesman Yobro 2:36.8
1996 Istidaad Protaras Bay Cheviot 2:41.0
1995 Storm Bullwinkle Quick Ransom 2:38.9
1994 Top Rating Starstruck Our Pompeii 2:45.9
1993 Glastonbury Notwithstanding Ramyah 2:38.7
1992 Donegal Mist Cross Swords Fraar 2:38.0
1991 Al Maheb The Hipprogriff Rasheek 2:41.9
1990 Kingston Rule Flying Luskin Chaleyer 2:40.1
1989 Sydeston Cosign Tawrrific 2:42.2
1988 Ideal Centreman Zamakima Shantaroun 2:46.4