horse racing info

Blue Sapphire Stakes

The Blue Sapphire Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds that takes place midweek in October at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $350,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Blue Sapphire Stakes was won by Anaheed from Li'l Kontra with Brooklyn Hustle third.

Held on a Wednesday on the middle day of the Melbourne Racing Club's three-day Caulfield Cup Carnival, the Blue Sapphire Stakes features alongside the Ladies Day Vase. and Coongy Handicap.

The Carnival's first day is highlighted by the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas and Group 1 Thousand Guineas the previous Saturday, while the Group 1 Caulfield Cup takes centre stage the following Saturday.

Blue Sapphire Stakes info

Date: Wednesday 16th October 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $350,000
2019 Winner: Anaheed

The Blue Sapphire Stakes is a good quality three-year-old race during Caulfield Cup week and has attracted clasy types over the past few seasons. The raise to group three status has resulted in better fields and higher quality horses contesting the event.

Earlier Caulfield three-year-old races such as the Gr3 Quezette Stakes, Gr 3 Vain Stakes and Gr 3 H.D.F. McNeil Stakes are ideal lead-up races, but have not proven much of a guide in recent times.

Lesser lights who tackled the Gr3 Danehill Stakes at Flemington may also be worth keeping an eye on when doing the form for this race. The drop in class and return to racing around a bend can make a big difference to how they perform. Speedy filly Snitzerland (2012) was the last galloper to win the Danehill Stakes & Blue Sapphire Stakes double.

It's worth noting that recent winners have gone on to tackle the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington on the first day of the Melbourne Cup Carnival. Flying Artie (2016) was good enough to win the Coolmore Stud Stakes, while the others were more than competitive.

Written By (2018) took out a 3Y-SWP race over 1000m at Caulfield before proving too classy in this event for trainer Grahame Begg.

Recent Blue Sapphire Stakes winners include Formality (2017) and Flying Artie (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

Classy galloper Flying Artie (2016) went on to win the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes on Derby Day at Flemington, while Keen Array (2015) and Lion Of Belfort (2013) both went on to place in the Gr1 Coolmore Stud Stakes.

Eloping (2014) headed to Flemington on Melbourne Cup Day to finish runner-up in the Gr3 Red Roses Stakes for fillies.

Star galloper Lankan Rupee (3rd in 2012) ran third to Sntzerland in this race before rising to stardom with multiple group one victories as an older galloper.

The Blue Sapphire Stakes tends to produce unheralded three-year-olds who often go on to be more than competitive at the highest level.

2018 Blue Sapphire Stakes result

1. $1.65 Written By 57.0 Jordan Childs
2. $8.00 Encryption 57.0 Craig Williams
3. $11.00 Tony Nicconi 57.0 Luke Nolen

then followed
4. $5.00 Performer 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $19.00 Smart Elissim 57.0 Regan Bayliss
6. $31.00 Spielberg 57.0 Damien Thornton

Margins: 1.25 len, 2.75 len
Time: 1:11.54

Bet now on the Blue Sapphire Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Blue Sapphire Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Blue Sapphire Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Anaheed Li'l Kontra Brooklyn Hustle 1:10.4
2018 Written By Encryption Tony Nicconi 1:11.5
2017 Formality Jukebox Lone Eagle 1:10.6
2016 Flying Artie Dalradian Derryn 1:09.7
2015 Keen Array Mogador Haptic 1:11.0
2014 Eloping Sultry Feeling Husson Eagle 1:09.5
2013 Lion of Belfort Safeguard Diamond Oasis 1:11.0
2012 Snitzerland Fire Thunderbolt Lankan Rupee 1:10.0