, Keith F Nolan Classic - Kembla Grange Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Keith F Nolan Classic

The Keith F Nolan Classic is a Group 3 race for 3yo Fillies that generally takes place in March each year at Kembla Grange racecourse in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and offers $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Keith F Nolan Classic was taken out by Asiago from Shout The Bar with All Saints' Eve third.

Kembla Grange Racecourse is located around 95 kilometres South of Sydney on the Princes Highway and the Kembla Grange track is built almost identical to Randwick racecourse.

Keith F Nolan Classic info

Date: Friday 12th March 2021
Track: Kembla Grange racecourse, Kembla Grange
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weight + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Asiago

The Keith F Nolan Classic is a more than handy 3yo fillies event on the provincial circuit at Kembla Grange that tends to attract above average females each year which resulted in the race being upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2009/2010 racing season.

Fillies from this race will more than likely head on to the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes on Golden Slipper day which is the ideal lead up race to the premier fillies event of the autumn, the Group 1 ATC Australian Oaks at Randwick.

The step up to the 2000 metres of the Storm Queen gives fillies a chance to test their staying abilities with an eye on tackling the Oaks. Single Gaze (2017) is the last filly to snare the Keith F Nolan Classic & Storm Queen Stakes double, while Purple (9th in 2009) took out the Storm Queen Stakes after finishing unplaced in this event.

This race has proven to be a good guide to feature fillies & mares races in recent times with Luvaluva (2018), Candlebra (7th in 2015), Arabian Gold (11th in 2014) and Royal Descent (2nd in 2013) all taking out the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes at Randwick after contesting this race. Royal Descent went on to win the Group 1 ATC Australian Oaks as well.

In previous years Brazilian Pulse (2012) won the Group 1 VRC Oaks at Flemington the following spring, while Appearance (2012) managed to take out the Group 1 Empire Rose Stakes at Flemington and the Group 1 Coolmore Classic & Group 1 Queen Of The Turf Stakes at Rosehill.

The best guide to this race of late has been the Group 1 Surround Stakes held during the Sydney autumn racing carnival in Sydney. Pohutukawa (2019), Slightly Sweet (2015), Zanbagh (2014) and Cameo (2013) all finishing unplaced in that race before tasting success in the Keith F Nolan Classic.

Pohutukawa (2019) ran fifth in the Surround Stakes over 1400m at Randwick before scoring a comfortable victory in this event for the James Cummings stable. Recent Keith F Nolan Classic winners include Luvaluva (2018) and Dawn Wall (2017).

Kembla Grange Track Map

Kembla Grange race track has a circumference of 2200 metres and a good size straight of 420 metres, with a track width of 25 metres. The Kembla Grange racecourse itself was built to the same dimensions as Randwick Racecourse and therefore suits horses who prefer bigger tracks and have the ability to finish a race off with purpose.

kembla grange track map

2020 Keith F Nolan Classic result

1. $12.00 Asiago 56.0 Hugh Bowman
2. $10.00 Shout The Bar 54.0 Adam Hyeronimus
3. $14.00 All Saints’ Eve 54.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $3.70 Missile Mantra 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
5. $4.20 Subpoenaed 54.0 Tommy Berry
6. $51.00 Icebath 54.0 Christian Reith
7. $5.00 Akari 55.0 James McDonald
8. $31.00 Dorothy Of Oz 54.0 Sam Clipperton
9. $12.00 Game Of Thorns 54.0 Tim Clark
10. $18.00 Nudge 54.0 Jason Collett
11. $101.00 Strange Charm 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire
12. $81.00 Buba 54.0 Ms Rachel King
13. $101.00 Pierro Rose 54.0 Ms Winona Costin
14. $101.00 Donnachiara 55.0 Mitchell Bell
15. $201.00 Sorridere 54.0 Jay Ford

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:36.10

Bet now on the Keith F Nolan Classic

We recommended Unibet for the best Keith F Nolan Classic odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Keith F Nolan Classic winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Asiago Shout The Bar All Saints' Eve 1:36.1
2019 Pohutukawa Frankely Awesome Scarlet Dream 1:37.5
2018 Luvaluva Torvill Wedgie 1:35.5
2017 Dawn Wall Lubiton Faraway Town 1:36.6
2016 Single Gaze Dixie Blossoms Asinara 1:37.3
2015 Slightly Sweet Wine Tales Heavens Above 1:35.4
2014 Zanbagh Role Model Metaphorical 1:37.8
2013 Cameo Royal Descent Gold Epona 1:35.1
2012 Appearance She Goes To Rio Aliyana Tilde 1:38.0
2011 Brazilian Pulse Fibrillation Honor Net 1:52.0
2010 Slapstick Mirrasalo Spinnawitch 1:35.8
2009 Allez Wonder Above Perfection Miss Darcey 1:34.6
2008 Bernicia Raise Heavenly Glow 1.37:5

In 2011 the Keith F Nolan Stakes was held at Rosehill racecourse over a distance of 1800 metres due to Kembla Grange racecourse being unfit for racing at the time.