horse racing info

VRC Oaks

The VRC Oaks is a Group 1 race for three-year-old fillies that takes place at Flemington racecourse each November during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 2500 metres and worth $1,000,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 VRC Oaks was won by Aristia from Greysful Glamour with Miner's Miss third.

The VRC Oaks is held on the third day of the Flemington four-day racing carnival and is always run midweek on the Thursday, two days after the Melbourne Cup. The final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup carnival, Stakes Day, takes place two days later with the Group 1 Emirates Stakes the feature race of the day.

VRC Oaks info

Date: Thursday 7th November 2019
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2500 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $1,000,000
2018 Winner: Aristia
2018 Crowd: 61,355
vrc oaks 2019 VRC Oaks odds

The VRC Oaks is the premier blue ribbon event for three-year-old staying fillies in Melbourne during the spring carnival. It's the fillies equivalent of the Victoria Derby for colts & geldings and run over the same 2500 metres distance as the Derby. The race is restricted to fillies at set weights and the better fillies have a decided advantage.

VRC Oaks day itself is known as 'Ladie's Day' and there is almost as much action off the track as there is on it, with the annual holding of the 'Fashions on the Field" ensuring a huge crowd is always in attendance.

The Gr1 Wakeful Stakes on Derby Day is the traditional lead-up race to the VRC Oaks and the Oaks has produced some quality winners over the years.

Samantha Miss (2008) won the Princess Series during the Sydney spring carnival prior to a WS Cox Plate placing and success in this race, while other notable winners in recent years include Mosheen (2011), Magical Miss (2001), Special Harmony (2003) and Miss Finland (2006).

The race is generally won by the classiest filly as the 2500 metres finds out the weaker fillies and class generally prevails in the run to the line.

Aristia (2018) captured the Wakeful STakes over 2000m at Flemington before scoring a classy on pace victory in this event for the Mathew Ellerton & Simon Zahra stable.

Recent VRC Oaks winners include Pinot (2017) and Lasqueti Spirit (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

Make sure you take a keen interest in the Gr2 Wakeful Stakes held at Flemington on Derby Day, as the Wakeful winner will more often than not win or run a place in the VRC Oaks. The Wakeful Stakes has been the traditional guide to this race over the years.

The most recent fillies to complete the Wakeful Stakes & VRC Oaks double include Aristia (2018), Kirramosa (2012), Brazilian Pulse (2010), Faint Perfume (2009), Serenade Rose (2005) and Hollow Bullet (2004). Classy gallopers Tuesday Joy (2006) and Timbourina (2003) both finished second in the Wakeful before winning the VRC Oaks. Dear Demi (2012) ran 4th in the Wakeful Stakes before finishing strongly to win this event.

2018 VRC Oaks result

1. $2.00 Aristia 55.5 Damian Lane
2. $5.00 Greysful Glamour 55.5 Tim Clark
3. $14.00 Miner's Miss 55.5 Ms Michelle Payne

then followed
4. $9.00 Maracaibo 55.5 Stephen Baster
5. $3.00 Qafila 55.5 Jim Crowley
6. $6.00 Sizzleme 55.5 Luke Currie
7. $4.00 Verry Elleegant 55.5 John Allen
8. $10.00 Scamper 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $8.00 Miss Moana 55.5 Mark Zahra
10. $12.00 Collectable 55.5 James McDonald
11. $13.00 Exclusively Ours 55.5 Ben Thompson
12. $7.00 Dark Confidant 55.5 Regan Bayliss
13. $11.00 Zapurler 55.5 Hugh Bowman
14. $15.00 Lesedi 55.5 Noel Callow
15. $1.00 Amphitrite 55.5 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.75
Time: 2:40.54

Bet now on the VRC Oaks

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best VRC Oaks odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

VRC Oaks winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Aristia Greysful Glamour Miner's Miss 2:40.5
2017 Pinot Bring Me Roses Hiyaam 2:37.2
2016 Lasqueti Spirit Harlow Gold Eleonora 2:37.7
2015 Jameka Honesta Ambience 2:43.3
2014 Set Square Thunder Lady Golconda 2:39.3
2013 Kirramosa Zanbagh Solicit 2:40.6
2012 Dear Demi Zydeco Summerbliss 2:35.8
2011 Mosheen Dowager Queen Roma Giaconda 2:39.3
2010 Brazilian Pulse Shamrocker Placement 2:41.6
2009 Faint Perfume Valdemoro Savsbelle 2:37.2
2008 Samantha Miss Miss Scarlatti Allez Wonder 2:37.5
2007 Arapaho Miss Serious Speed Marjorie 2:36.8
2006 Miss Finland Tuesday Joy Anamato 2:37.2
2005 Serenade Rose Florica Danica Empress Lily 2:36.3
2004 Hollow Bullet Kylikwong Storm Alert 2:31.2
2003 Special Harmony Dane Belltar Timbourina 2:39.0
2002 Bulla Borghese Lashed Antique 2:36.3
2001 Magical Miss Manang Li Lo Lill 2:34.7
2000 Lovelorn Lan Kwai Fong Lolita Star 2:35.3
1999 Tributes My Sienna Shizu 2:34.3
1998 Grand Archway Rose OWar Zazabelle 2:37.7
1997 Kensington Palace Only A Lady Kilmore Quay 2:41.3
1996 My Brightia Danendri Derobe 2:35.9
1995 Saleous Arctic Scent Pontal Lass 2:39.6
1994 Northwood Plume Wild Thunder Captive 2:37.7
1993 Arborea Oaks Day Give Me A Buzz 2:38.9
1992 Slight Chance Mahaya Burst 2:39.5
1991 Richfield Lady Indias Dream Yodells 2:38.6
1990 Weekend Delight Whisked Triscay 2:38.1
1989 Tristanagh La Tristia Ochiltree 2:39.9
1988 Research Riverina Charm Chaleyer 2:35.8
1987 Sandys Pleasure Tennessee Vain St Klaire 2:41.8
1986 Diamond Shower Shackle Denita Gold 2:40.2
1985 My Tristrams Belle Born To Be Queen Dolcezza 2:45.5
1984 Spirit Of Kingston Our Lafitte Centaurea 2:41.9
1983 Taj Eclipse Mapperley Heights Rose Of Dudley 2:37.5
1982 Roms Stiletto Home Maid Confessions 2:39.6
1981 Rose Of Kingston Queens Road Copperama 2:36.9
1980 November Rain Deck The Halls Verdi 2:40.0
1979 Brava Jeannie Delma Jay Crown Queen 2:36.7
1978 Scomeld Safe Harbour Kapalaran 2:39.6
1977 Show Ego Sun Sally Princess Talaria 2:37.2
1976 Surround Saviour Of Two Cities 2:38.7
1975 Denises Joy Ace Queen Latin Model 2:45.4