, Hawkesbury Crown - Hawkesbury Racecourse - Hawkesbury Gold Cup Day
horse racing info

Hawkesbury Crown

The Hawkesbury Crown is a Group 3 race for fillies & mares only that takes place each year in August at Hawkesbury racecourse in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Hawkesbury Crown was won by Amangiri from Live And Free with Another Dollar third.

The Hawkesbury track is located around 65km west of Sydney, between Richmond and Windsor, situated opposite the Richmond Air Force Base. The Hawkesbury Crown is held on Group 3 Hawkesbury Gold Cup day, alongside the Group 3 Hawkesbury Guineas, and was afforded Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Hawkesbury Crown info

Date: Saturday 24th April 2021
Track: Hawkesbury racecourse, Hawkesbury
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Amangiri

The Hawkesbury Crown is a race for fillies & mares only that can be a bit of a minefield for punters, although the set weights & penalties conditions tends to favour the better performed mares engaged.

A race such as the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes, on the second day of 'The Championships' at Randwick in Sydney, provides a good lead up race to the Hawkesbury Crown, while the upcoming Group 3 Dark Jewel Classic at Scone may be on the agenda for fillies & mares contesting this event.

Aerobatics (2014) finished runner-up in the Dark Jewel Classic following success in this race, with Daysie Doom (2nd in 2016) and Seaside (6th in 2014) going on to win the Dark Jewel Classic after running second & sixth respectively in this race.

Any capable fillies or mares may head to Queensland for the Brisbane winter racing carnival and Peace Force (2nd in 2015) took out the Group 3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes after a good second in the Hawkesbury Crown. Others may head south to Melbourne, such as Manicure (3rd in 2019), who went on to win the Group 2 How Now Stakes at Caulfield after finishing third in this race.

Irithea (2019) finished runner-up in the Group 2 Sapphire Stakes over 1200m at Randwick before leading all the way to win this event in impressive style for trainer Bjorn Baker.

Recent Hawkesbury Crown winners include Pecans (2018) and Shillelagh (2017).

Hawkesbury Track Map

Hawkesbury race track has a circumference of 2070m and there is a slight rise from the home turn to the winning post. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 380m and horses race in a clockwise direction.

hawkesbury Track Map

2020 Hawkesbury Crown result

1. $14.00 Sweet Scandal 56.0 Glen Boss
2. $3.40 In Her Time 60.0 Hugh Bowman
3. $9.00 Dyslexic 56.0 James Innes Jnr

then followed
4. $8.50 Irithea 58.0 Tim Clark
5. $9.00 Multaja 58.0 James McDonald
6. $21.00 Strome 56.0 Ms Rachel King
7. $14.00 Moss Trip 58.0 Joshua Parr
8. $6.50 Bangkok 56.0 Robbie Dolan
9. $31.00 Misteed 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
10. $71.00 Nicci's Gold 56.0 Jason Collett
11. $201.00 Slow Burn 56.0 Sam Clipperton
12. $13.00 Naantali 57.0 Tommy Berry
13. $71.00 Insensata 56.0 Adam Hyeronimus
14. $31.00 Connemara 56.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins:0.3 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:15.86

Bet now on the Hawkesbury Gold Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Hawkesbury Gold Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Hawkesbury Gold Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Amangiri Live And Free Another Dollar 1:28.1
2019 Archedemus Tom Melbourne Sixties Groove 1:34.4
2018 Kingsguard Ecuador Mccreery 1:37.0
2017 Fabrizio Moher Testashadow 1:34.6
2016 Amovatio Mighty Lucky Casino Dancer 1:34.8
2015 Sons Of John Tales Of Grimm Rugged Cross 1:38.4
2014 Leebaz Wistful Keep Cool 1:35.3
2013 Coup Ay Tee Julienas Darci Be Good 1:35.6
2012 Darci Be Good Isopach Praecido 1.35.3
2011 Somepin Anypin Willy Jimmy Renewed Vitality 2:39.3
2010 Thankgodyou'rehere Glintz Kimillsy 1:35.3
2009 Keepin The Dream Spinney Bernicia 1:35.3
2008 Nuclear Sky Alverta Gergis 1.34.7
2007 Race not held Equine Flu
2006 Beauty Watch Friday Creek Prince Arthur 1:34.4
2005 Wild Queen Verb Cateclipse 1:38.0
2004 Court's In Session Magsaya Salgado 1:33.2
2003 Stoway Vital Agreement Takas 1:37.5
2002 This Manshood Huge Demand Evander 1:33.1
2001 Carael Boy Play Station Ra Eclipse 1:34.9
2000 Huge Demand Grey And Gold Lanolin 1:33.8
1999 Huge Demand Chinhoyi So Precise 1:34.3
1998 Referral Banner Headline Tricove 1:33.7
1997 Quick Flick Wakool Ash Stony Bay 1:33.8
1996 Magic Road Headstrong Classy Fella 1:33.1
1995 Magic Road Rouslan Social Rule 1:35.3
1994 Jack Attack Cohort Another Victor 1:34.7
1993 Thrifty Reserve Square The Circle Play Or Pay 1:32.9
1992 Mr Impose Thrifty Reserve Belas Knap 1:35.1
1991 Shining Wind Pre Record Thrifty Reserve 1:34.1
1990 Rancho Classic Livistona Lane Post Elect 1:35.3
1989 Swain Prince Toronaga Impoverish 1:37.5
1988 Regal Native Toscanini It's Lunchtime 2:01.1
1987 My Parade Palmyra Bay Commercial Balance 1:59.3
1986 Gold Zama Jogger Reuter's News 2:01.6
1985 Peaceful Joe Likealunch Benbulban 2:00.9
1984 Kutzbah Rueter's News Jogger 2:05.1
1983 Almond Valley Noble Ambition Viva Bali 1:59.2
1982 Knight's Affair Artist Man Ambushed 2:02.2
1981 King's Ideal Round The Horn River D'Or 2:02.6
1980 Peninsula March To Glory Howie 2:28.7

The 2015 Hawkesbury Crown was held at Rosehill the following Saturday after the standalone Hawkesbury meeting was washed out.