, Hawkesbury Gold Cup - Hawkesbury Racecourse - Country Cup
horse racing info

Hawkesbury Gold Cup

The Hawkesbury Gold Cup is a Group 3 open handicap race held on a Saturday each year in May at Hawkesbury racecourse in New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Hawkesbury Gold Cup was won by Amangiri from Live And Free with Another Dollar third.

More recently the Hawkesbury Gold Cup was held on VRC Oaks day during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival, but was moved to May for the 2013/2014 racing season to become the feature event of a standalone race day alongside the Group 3 Hawkesbury Guineas and Group 3 Hawkesbury Crown.

The Hawkesbury track is located about 65km west of the Sydney city centre, between Richmond and Windsor, and is directly opposite the Richmond Air Force Base.

Hawkesbury Gold Cup info

Date: Saturday 24th April 2021
Track: Hawkesbury racecourse, Hawkesbury
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Amangiri

The Hawkesbury Gold Cup is an above average country cup race that normally attracts handy local types, or better class horses that make the trip up from Sydney, and generally the race will be taken out by a fit, in-form galloper or an emerging type on the way up.

The move from spring to the autumn may attract some of the lesser lights from the recently finished Sydney autumn racing carnival looking for an easier black type race to add to their reseumes.

Archedemus (2019) finished unplaced in the Provincial Championship Final over 1400m at Randwick in Sydney before leading all the way to win this event for popular Kembla Grange trader Gwenda Markwell.

Recent Hawkesbury Gold Cup winners include Kingsguard (2018) and Fabrizio (2017).

Hawkesbury Track Map

Hawkesbury race track has a circumference of 2070m and there is a slight rise from the home turn to the winning post. The track surface is turf and the straight length is 380m and horses race in a clockwise direction.

hawkesbury Track Map

2020 Hawkesbury Gold Cup result

1. $4.80 Amangiri 55.0 Tommy Berry
2. $7.00 Live And Free 53.0 Glen Boss
3. $31.00 Another Dollar 54.0 Brenton Avdulla

then followed
4. $5.00 Archedemus 55.5 Jason Collett
=5. $11.00 Gaulois 59.0 Hugh Bowman
=5. $8.00 Royal Celebration 54.0 Sam Clipperton
7. $31.00 Brimham Rocks 58.0 James McDonald
8. $11.00 Girl Tuesday 56.0 Nash Rawiller
9. $31.00 Aliferous 53.0 Robbie Dolan
10. $9.00 Manolo Blahniq 53.0 Ms Rachel King
11. $201.00 Valentino Rossa 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire
12. $19.00 Unforgotten 56.5 Joshua Parr
13. $21.00 Mask Of Time 56.5 Tim Clark
14. $151.00 Tangled 54.0 Glyn Schofield

Margins: 0.4 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:28.18

Bet now on the Hawkesbury Gold Cup

We recommended Unibet for the best Hawkesbury Gold Cup odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Hawkesbury Gold Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Amangiri Live And Free Another Dollar 1:28.1
2019 Archedemus Tom Melbourne Sixties Groove 1:34.4
2018 Kingsguard Ecuador Mccreery 1:37.0
2017 Fabrizio Moher Testashadow 1:34.6
2016 Amovatio Mighty Lucky Casino Dancer 1:34.8
2015 Sons Of John Tales Of Grimm Rugged Cross 1:38.4
2014 Leebaz Wistful Keep Cool 1:35.3
2013 Coup Ay Tee Julienas Darci Be Good 1:35.6
2012 Darci Be Good Isopach Praecido 1.35.3
2011 Somepin Anypin Willy Jimmy Renewed Vitality 2:39.3
2010 Thankgodyou'rehere Glintz Kimillsy 1:35.3
2009 Keepin The Dream Spinney Bernicia 1:35.3
2008 Nuclear Sky Alverta Gergis 1.34.7
2007 Race not held Equine Flu
2006 Beauty Watch Friday Creek Prince Arthur 1:34.4
2005 Wild Queen Verb Cateclipse 1:38.0
2004 Court's In Session Magsaya Salgado 1:33.2
2003 Stoway Vital Agreement Takas 1:37.5
2002 This Manshood Huge Demand Evander 1:33.1
2001 Carael Boy Play Station Ra Eclipse 1:34.9
2000 Huge Demand Grey And Gold Lanolin 1:33.8
1999 Huge Demand Chinhoyi So Precise 1:34.3
1998 Referral Banner Headline Tricove 1:33.7
1997 Quick Flick Wakool Ash Stony Bay 1:33.8
1996 Magic Road Headstrong Classy Fella 1:33.1
1995 Magic Road Rouslan Social Rule 1:35.3
1994 Jack Attack Cohort Another Victor 1:34.7
1993 Thrifty Reserve Square The Circle Play Or Pay 1:32.9
1992 Mr Impose Thrifty Reserve Belas Knap 1:35.1
1991 Shining Wind Pre Record Thrifty Reserve 1:34.1
1990 Rancho Classic Livistona Lane Post Elect 1:35.3
1989 Swain Prince Toronaga Impoverish 1:37.5
1988 Regal Native Toscanini It's Lunchtime 2:01.1
1987 My Parade Palmyra Bay Commercial Balance 1:59.3
1986 Gold Zama Jogger Reuter's News 2:01.6
1985 Peaceful Joe Likealunch Benbulban 2:00.9
1984 Kutzbah Rueter's News Jogger 2:05.1
1983 Almond Valley Noble Ambition Viva Bali 1:59.2
1982 Knight's Affair Artist Man Ambushed 2:02.2
1981 King's Ideal Round The Horn River D'Or 2:02.6
1980 Peninsula March To Glory Howie 2:28.7