horse racing info

Frank Packer Plate

The Frank Packer Plate is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds that takes place each April at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres under set weight conditions and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Frank Packer Plate was won by The Chosen One from Dealmaker with Purple Sector third.

Named after former AJC committeeman Sir Frank Packer and held on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival, the Frank Packer Plate ably supports the feature races of the day, Group 1 All Aged Stakes and Group 1 ATC Champagne Stakes.

Frank Packer Plate info

Date: Saturday 18th April 2020
Track: Randwick racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: The Chosen One

The Frank Packer Plate is a middle distance race for three-year-olds over 2000m that suits those 3yo gallopers who did not contest the ATC Australian Derby or ATC Australian Oaks over 2400m, or any three-year-olds that found the Derby or Oaks too strong and are looking for an easier distance race to compete in.

Normally a race for more than handy types rather than the elite, quality gallopers Might And Power (1997) and Juggler (1995) managed to win this race as a three-year-old before going on to become stars of the turf.

Earlier three-year-old races during the carnival over 2000m such as Group 2 Tulloch Stakes for colts & geldings at Rosehill or the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes for fillies at Randwick are typical lead up races to the Frank Packer Plate. Arabian Gold (2014) was the last galloper to claim the Adrian Knox Stakes & Frank Packer Plate double, before heading to Brisbane to win the Group 2 Doomben Roses at her next start.

The Group 3 Carbine Club Stakes has also proven a good guide to the Frank Packer Plate in recent times with both He's Our Rokkii (2016) and Hi World (2015) both claiming the Carbine Club Stakes & Frank Packer Plate double.

The Chosen One ran fourth in the Group 1 ATC Australian Derby over 2400m at Randwick before finishing quickly to win this event in sterling fashion for New Zealand training duo Murray Baker & Andrew Forsman.

Recent Frank Packer Plate winners include Higher Ground (2018) and Mongolian Wolf (2017).

2019 Frank Packer Plate result

1. $5.50 The Chosen One 56.5 Blake Shinn
2. $4.80 Dealmaker 56.5 Hugh Bowman
3. $21.00 Purple Sector 56.5 Sam Clipperton

then followed
4. $21.00 On The White Turf 54.5 James McDonald
5. $11.00 House Of Cartier 54.5 Brenton Avdulla
6. $2.90 Amangiri 54.5 Tommy Berry
7. $8.00 Carif 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
8. $21.00 Fun Fact 56.5 Damian Lane
9. $12.00 Greysful Glamour 54.5 Tim Clark
10. $101.00 Watch The Cat 56.5 Jay Ford
11. $101.00 Home Win 56.5 Sam Weatherley
12. $151.00 Blast 56.5 Adam Hyeronimus

Margins: 1.5 len, 0.2 len
Time: 2:00.97

Bet now on the Frank Packer Plate

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Frank Packer Plate odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Frank Packer Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 The Chosen One Dealmaker Purple Sector 2:00.9
2018 Higher Ground Tangled Holy Snow 2:02.3
2017 Mongolian Wolf Veladero Screamarr 2:10.5
2016 He's Our Rokkii Old North Torgersen 2:04.6
2015 Hi World Wine Tales Merion 2:05.9
2014 Arabian Gold Pheidon Malice 2:06.5
2013 Usainity Honorius Kingdoms 2:04.8
2012 Fat Al Ambidexter Rekindled Alliance 2:04.2
2011 Shootoff Happy Trails Muirfield 2:07.7
2010 Dariana Euphemism Viking Hero 2:04.7
2009 Yallingup Orca Merensky Reef 2:05.8
2008 Rockwood Moatize Imvula 2:05.2
2007 Carnegie House Empire Choice Deloraine 2:06.8
2006 Dream Machine Born To Rule Super Lacuma 2:04.3
2005 Afraah Magnetism Eremein 2:04.8
2004 Red Terror Point Of Honour Running Rich 2:02.3
2003 Clangalang So Assertive Al Megdam 2:03.8
2002 Arlington Road On A High Navy Blue 2:02.4
2001 Spurred On Heeby Reiby Life Is Beautiful 2:04.6
2000 Freemason Perfect Paradise Crawl 2:06.7
1999 Franklin River Le Zagaletta Able Master 2:05.6
1998 Dodge Marsking Adam 2:05.5
1997 Might And Power Sakti Seeing Stars 2:02.8
1996 Mr Piper Pay Back Time Delinquent 2:05.1
1995 Juggler Glide Away Law Of The Land 2:05.4
1994 Espinosa Star Dancer Darbaas 2:03.6
1993 Play Or Pay Innocent King Palace Symphony 2:05.4
1992 In The Event Conshana Silk Ali 2:03.6
1991 Bold Rancher New Acquaintance Derecho 2:01.7
1990 Stargazer Snowplough Fastarc 2:13.7
1989 Royal Pardon Outgun Gold Mace 2:13.1
1988 Serestrina Harlan Star Great Quest 2:11.9