horse racing info

Grand Prix Stakes

The Grand Prix Stakes is a Group 3 race for three-year-olds that takes place late May or early June at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 2200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Grand Prix Stakes was won by Fun Fact from Angel Of Heaven with Home Made third.

Held on the final day ofthe Doomben racing carnival on Group 1 Doomben 10,000 day, the Grand Prix Stakes is one of the better 3yo races during the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

Grand Prix Stakes info

Date: Saturday 25th May 2019
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 2200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: Fun Fact

The Grand Prix Stakes was first run in 1974 and is the ideal lead up race for three-year-olds planning to contest the Queensland Derby over 2400m later in the carnival at Eagle Farm racecourse. The set weight & penalty conditions of this race favours the better horses entered for the event.

The most recent Grand Prix Stakes & Queensland Derby double winners have been Hawkspur (2013), Brambles (2012), Ice Chariot (2006) & Half Hennessy (2003), and this race generally attracts handy gallopers rather then the elite. Kutchinsky (2010) finished runner-up in the Queensland Derby after winning the Grand Prix Stakes.

Of late, the Gr3 Rough Habit Plate has been a pivotal guide to this race with both Mackintosh (2016), Hawkspur (2013) and Brambles (2012) all taking out the Rough Habit Plate & Grand Prix Stakes double, with both Hawkspur and Brambles going on to win the Queensland Derby at their next start.

Fun Fact (2019) took out a 3YO BM68 race over 1600m at Warwick Farm in Sydney before heading north to Brisbane to win this event in stylish fashion fro the Bjorn Baker stable.

Recent Grand Prix Stakes winners include Heavenly Thought (2018) and Order Again (2017).

2019 Grand Prix Stakes result

1. $19.00 Fun Fact 57.0 Michael Cahill
2. $10.00 Angel Of Heaven 55.0 Tommy Berry
3. $71.00 Home Made 57.0 Jamie Kah

then followed
4. $21.00 Trusty Lad 57.0 James Orman
5. $7.50 A Man To Match 57.0 Larry Cassidy
6. $10.00 Vow And Declare 57.0 Brad Rawiller
7. $61.00 Borazon 57.0 Robbie Fradd
8. $6.00 Bobby Dee 57.0 Blake Shinn
9. $14.00 Napoleon Solo 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
10. $3.40 Lord Arthur 57.0 James McDonald
11. $151.00 Partnership 57.0 Jason Taylor
12. $5.50 Grinzinger Star 57.0 Corey Brown
13. $31.00 Fuji Fury 57.0 Jeff Lloyd

Margins: 1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 2:16.07

The Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes, Gr3 Lady Of The Turf Stakes and Gr3 Premiers Cup also take place on the same day as the Grand Prix Stakes.

Bet now on the Grand Prix Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Grand Prix Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Grand Prix Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Fun Fact Angel Of Heaven Home Made 2:16.0
2018 Heavenly Thought Han Xin Dark Dream 2:14.2
2017 Order Again Volatile Mix Violate 2:22.3
2016 Mackintosh Eagle Way Howard Be Thy Name 2:16.4
2015 Upham Redoutable Heart Master Of Arts 2:04.6
2014 Vilanova Pinstripe Lane Rudy 2:14.4
2013 Hawkspur Rhythm To Spare Honorius 2:16.3
2012 Brambles Vatuvei Red Shift 2:16.1
2011 Turnitup Mr Light Blue Alma's Fury 2:18.0
2010 Kutchinsky The Hombre Landlord 2:17.0
2009 Saint Minerva Markus Maximus The Grogoch 2:19.4
2008 Bell Academy Teary Eyed Petushki 2:14.9
2007 Sirmione My Centurion Currigee 2:10.3
2006 Ice Chariot Kincharm Just Grand 2:10.5
2005 Spuruson Willy Leica Atapi 2:07.6
2004 Reclaim Dodgem Russian Pearl 2:08.9
2003 Half Hennessy General Minolta Mahtoum 2:11.4
2002 Distinctly Secret Cassimir Arlington Road 2:11.7
2001 Reenact Air War Feed The Meter 2:14.6
2000 Make Mine Magic Freemason Fairway 2:14.6
1999 Conair Kugelhoph Camarena 2:21.3
1998 Meeting Abandoned
1997 Meeting Abandoned
1996 Faience Valance Super Slew 2:12.7
1995 Perfect Bound Danasinga Turridu 2:13.3
1994 Sky Watch Sapio Love Moves Me 2:14.4
1993 Air Seattle Palate Irish Rort 2:14.6
1992 In The Event Noteworthy Our Honfleur 2:21.7
1991 Dorset Downs Windy Morn Dr Glass 2:18.5
1990 Stargazer Rough Habit Anschluss 2:20.2
1989 Hidden Rhythm Chill Factor Easy Now 2:20.9