horse racing info

Moonga Stakes

The Moonga Stakes is a Group 3 event for open horses raced held each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres under set weight plus penalty conditions and worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Moonga Stakes was won by Sircconi from Dreamforce with Perast third.

Taking place on the final day of the Melbourne Racing Club's three-day racing carnival, the Monnga Stakes is held alongside the MRC's most prestigious race, the Caulfield Cup.

Moonga Stakes info

Date: Saturday 19th October 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: 4yo&Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2018 Winner: Sircconi

The Moonga Stakes is a set weights and penalty race for 4yo and upwards horses and has been won by some quality types over the years including Assertive Lad (2002), Flavour (2001), Rough Habit (1992) and the mighty frontrunner Vo Rogue (1988).

Suiting horses who might go on to similar or stronger races from 1400m to 1600m during the carnival period, the Moonga Stakes typically attracts more than handy gallopers who might go on and pick up a major race every now and then.

Sircconi (2018) ran third in the Listed Weekend Hussler Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before taking out this event in impressive fashion for trainer john Sadler.

Recent Moonga Stakes winners include Ulmann (2017) and Voodoo Lad (2016).

ladbrokes odds

Enjoy top odds on a variety of horse racing betting markets.

Spring Carnival Guide

Winners and placegetters of this race might tackle the major races from 1200m to 1600m during the spring carnival and be very competitive without winning too many.

Dreamforce (2018) headed to Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival to capture the Gr3 Chatham Stakes on the final day.

In recent times the Moonga Stakes has provided multiple Gr1 Emirates Stakes winners with Boban (2013) and Albert The Fat (2nd in 2011) taking out the feature mile race on the final day of Flemington carnival, while Hurtle Myrtle (5th in 2011) won the Gr1 Empire Rose Stakes on the first day.

Gathering (5th in 2010) travelled to Perth the following month to win the Gr1 Railway Stakes over 1600m at Ascot racecourse.

2018 Moonga Stakes result

1. $7.50 Sircconi 56.0 Ms Linda Meech
2. $6.00 Dreamforce 56.5 Damian Lane
3. $9.50 Perast 57.5 Tim Clark

then followed
4. $4.40 Tom Melbourne 56.0 Hugh Bowman
5. $7.00 Peaceful State 56.5 John Allen
6. $101.00 Loyalty Man 56.0 Patrick Moloney
7. $4.80 Mr Sneaky 56.0 James McDonald
8. $17.00 Crack Me Up 58.5 Regan Bayliss
9. $51.00 Burning Front 56.5 Dean Yendall
10. $12.00 Music Magnate 56.5 Zac Purton

Margins: 1.75 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:24.97

Bet now on the Moonga Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Moonga Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Moonga Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sircconi Dreamforce Perast 1:24.9
2017 Ulmann Burning Front Echo Effect 1:23.4
2016 Voodoo Lad Takedown Turnitaround 1:24.5
2015 Vashka Under The Louvre Coronation Shallan 1:23.2
2014 Lucky Hussler Under The Louvre Generalife 1:23.4
2013 Boban Strawberry Boy Galah 1:23.8
2012 Whateverwhenever King's Rose Mcclintock 1:23.7
2011 Love Conquers All Albert The Fat Pinwheel 1:21.9
2010 Rothera Sniper's Bullet Jungle Ruler 1:25.8
2009 McClintock Rightfully Yours Kiloton 1:22.7
2008 Royal Discretion Turffontein Stickpin 1.23.6
2007 Lord Of The Dance Polish Clown Solar Secret 1:22.6
2006 Perfectly Ready Live In Vain Caprizzi Strip 1:22.3
2005 Volitant Yell Shadow 1:21.3
2004 Amtrak Pink Fit Monahan Tweed 1:24.6
2003 Thorn Park Lord Volksraad Regal Roller 1:22.5
2002 Assertive Lad El Nino Prince Rubiton 1:22.9
2001 Flavour Inspire Make Mine Magic 1:24.8
2000 Cellar Hire Weasel Will 1:21.8
1999 Another Neptune Strident Weasel Will 1:23.5
1998 Buster Jones Blazing Steel Bezeal Bay 1:24.3
1997 Monets Cove Delsole Confiscate 1:22.6
1996 Mamzelle Pedrille Hero Wind Hunza Court 1:24.6
1995 Royal Blue Taos Social Rule 1:24.2
1994 Star Dancer Chemin De Fer Sportsbeat 1:23.2
1993 Cogitate Cocky Beau Unequalled 1:22.7
1992 Rough Habit Rare Chance Black Rouge 1:30.0
1991 Steineck Pontormo Prince Ormenium 1:23.8
1990 Royal Pay Sioux Chief Procol Harum 1:27.3
1989 Heavenly View Better Loosen Up Acid Print 1:23.2
1988 Vo Rogue Prismatic Star Jet Fighter 1:23.1