, Chatham Stakes - Flemington Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Chatham Stakes

The Chatham Stakes is a Group 3 open handicap race held at Flemington racecourse annually during the Melbourne spring racing carnival in late October or early November. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Chatham Stakes was won by Reykjavik from Admiral's Joker with Noble Boy third.

A number of difference sponsors have put their name to the Chatham Stakes over the years and the most recent edition was held as the L'Oreal Paris Stakes'. The Chatham Stakes takes placee on Oaks day, on the third day of the four day Melbourne Cup Carnival, featuring the Group 1 VRC Oaks for three-year-old fillies.

Chatham Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th November 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Reykjavik

The Chatham Stakes is named after dual WS Cox Plate winner Chatham and is generally a race for more than handy types who are typically competitive in these types of races but not up to the higher class races on offer throughout the spring.

The Chatham Stakes is usually the last race on the program on Derby Day and will typically assemble a capacity field of horses with a high number of them having genuine chances, making it a tough betting race for punters to get out on.

Horses contesting this race might consider going on to tackle the Group 1 Emirates Stakes on the final day of the Flemington carnival or the Gr3 Sandown Stakes the following week at Sandown racecourse.

Dreamforce (2018) finished runner-up in the Gr3 Moonga Stakes over 1400m at Caulfield before leading all the way to win this event for Sydney trainer John Thompson.

Recent Chatham Stakes winners include Hellova Street (2017) and Rageese (2016).

Spring Carnival Guide

Famous Seamus (6th in 2015) took out the Gr3 Kevin Heffernan Stakes at Sandown after finisning unplaced in this event, while Smokin' Joey (2013) and Fawkner (2012) both finished second in the Emirates Stakes at Flemington after winning the Chatham Stakes. Fawkner stepped up a gear the following spring to win the Group 1 Caulfield Cup at Caulfield. Galah (2nd in 2013) ran third in the Sandown Stakes at Sandown at his next start.

Sniper's Bullet (3rd in 2009) travelled to Perth during the summer carnival to win the Group 1 Railway Stakes & Group 1 Kingston Town Classic double.

All Silent (2008) managed to win the Chatham Stakes & Emirates Stakes double in the same year while Valedictum (3rd in 2005) won the Emirates the same year before finishing 3rd the following year in 2006.

Scenic Peak (2001 & 2003) won the Emirates Stakes in 2002 and Bezeal Bay (1998) went on to win the Emirates Stakes the same year.

2019 Chatham Stakes result

1. $11.00 Reykjavik 54.5 Dean Yendall
2. $3.60 Admiral's Joker 57.0 Craig Williams
3. $9.00 Noble Boy 54.0 Brodie Loy

then followed
4. $3.90 Iconoclasm 56.0 Damien Oliver
5. $21.00 Manolo Blahniq 55.0 Jake Noonan
6. $7.00 Haunted 56.0 Kerrin McEvoy
7. $31.00 Rich Itch 55.0 Dwayne Dunn
8. $31.00 Ken's Dream 54.0 Ms Linda Meech
9. $8.50 Streets Of Avalon 59.0 Clayton Douglas
10. $101.00 Kaspersky 56.0 Ms Michelle Payne
11. $26.00 Tom Melbourne 57.0 James McDonald
12. $151.00 Willi Willi 54.0 Beau Mertens

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.1 len
Time: 1:23.22

Bet now on the Chatham Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Chatham Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Chatham Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Reykjavik Admiral's Joker Noble Boy 1:23.2
2018 Dreamforce Widgee Turf Perast 1:22.1
2017 Hellova Street Supply And Demand Fox Hall 1:22.4
2016 Rageese Arod Federal 1:21.5
2015 Disposition San Diego Hosting 1:23.6
2014 Huckleback Alma's Fury Generalife 1:23.2
2013 Smokin' Joey Galah Strike The Stars 1:23.4
2012 Fawkner Free Wheeling Wall Street 1:20.9
2011 Woorim Thankgodyou'rehere Toorak Toff 1:23.5
2010 Poor Judge Demerit Centennial Park 1:25.7
2009 Centennial Park McClintock Royal Ida/Snipers Bu 1:22.2
2008 All Silent Sniper's Bullet Stickpin 1:22.4
2007 Count To Zero Spielmeister Royal Ida 1:23.7
2006 Malcolm Mr Ubiquitous Live In Vain 1:22.9
2005 Rockford Bay Zankel Valedictum 1:22.2
2004 Great Is Great Amtrak Regent Street 1:22.7
2003 Scenic Park Lord Volksraad Shogun Lodge 1:24.0
2002 To Be Fair Palladium Star Tarcoola Midnight 1:22.3
2001 Scenic Park Desert Eagle Super Impressive 1:21.3
2000 Matter Of Honour Typhoon Barney Aka Bilk 1:23.8
1999 Black Bean Bonotto Northern Song 1:22.5
1998 Bezeal Bay Pleasure Giver Rancho Spark 1:20.8
1997 Confiscate Crows Before Dawn Jugulator 1:24.7
1996 Headstrong Monopolize Hero Wind 1:21.6
1995 Final Temp Regal Half Sir Boom 1:26.4
1994 New Smyrna Money Spider Natural Elegance 1:24.0
1993 Cocky Beau My Wanderin' Star Ghost Story 1:24.5
1992 Let's Hurry Prince Of Praise Sir Bituate 1:24.6
1991 Blue Boss Overpitch Pontormo 1:22.0
1990 Power Of Destiny Procol Harum Looks Great 1:23.0
1989 Swiftsynd Royal Creation Prince Anton 1:21.4
1988 Bowie Jet Fighter Prismatic Star 1:21.9