, George Moore Stakes - Eagle Farm - Brisbane Summer Racing Carnival
horse racing info

George Moore Stakes

The George Moore Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap race held annually at Doomben racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland in late November or early December. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 George Moore Stakes was won by Chapter And Verse from Outback Barbie with Boomsara third.

Formerly known as the Summer Stakes, the George Moore Stakes is the first of three group races held in Brisbane during the summer period, with the other two being the Group 3 Vo Rogue Plate and the Group 3 BJ McLachlan Stakes.

George Moore Stakes info

Date: Saturday 4th December 2021
Track: Doomben racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Chapter And Verse

The George Moore Stakes is a handy sprint race for this time of year and typically attracts the best available local sprinters going around at the time due to the high prize money on offer and the handicap conditions of the event.

The race has been won by some good horses at various times, including quality types such as Takeover Target (2005) and Chief De Beers (1994 & 1997), and is held during the Brisbane summer carnival which hosts a number of listed stakes races throughout the months of December and January.

I'm A Rippa (2018) finished third in the Lised Keith Noud Stakes over 1200m at Doomben before scoring a classy citory in this event for trainer Tony Gollan.

Recent George Moore Stakes winners include Monsieur Gustave (2017), who managed to win the Keith Noud Stakes prior to success here, and Most Important (2016).

2019 George Moore Stakes result

1. $6.50 Chapter And Verse 54.0 Mark Du Plessis
2. $4.80 Outback Barbie 55.0 Jim Byrne
3. $15.00 Boomsara 56.0 Brad Stewart

then followed
4. $10.00 Pennino 54.0 Robbie Fradd
5. $51.00 Crack Me Up 60.0 Ryan Maloney
6. $4.80 I'm A Rippa 58.0 Jake Bayliss
7. $61.00 Monsieur Gustave 56.0 Micheal Hellyer
8. $41.00 Sharpe Hussler 54.0 Luke Tarrant
9. $26.00 Removal 54.0 Andrew Mallyon
10. $61.00 Natch 54.0 Baylee Nothdurft
11. $10.00 Keen Array 54.5 Matthew McGillivray
12. $26.00 River Racer 55.0 Dale Smith
13. $6.50 Brave Song 59.5 Larry Cassidy
14. $20.00 Divine Dice 54.0 Ron Stewart
15. $61.00 Fiery Heights 56.0 Boris Thornton

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.2 len
Time: 1:09.00

Bet now on the George Moore Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best George Moore Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

George Moore Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Chapter And Verse Outback Barbie Boomsara 1:09.0
2018 I'm A Rippa Most Important Victorem 1:08.4
2017 Monsieur Gustave Calanda Snoopy 1:09.2
2016 Most Important Coolring Trubia 1:09.8
2015 Didntcostalot Gundy Spirit Fontelina 1:08.1
2014 Big Money Someday Cape Kidnappers 1:09.6
2013 Lucky Hussler Morning Captain Startsmeup 1:08.4
2012 Startsmeup Phelan Ready Morning Captain 1:09.5
2011 Adebisi Latin News Spirit Of Boom 1:10.3
2010 Not Held
2009 Burdekin Blues Zero Rock Forestreno 1:08.0
2008 Friendly Embrace Daunting Lad Tour Guide 1:09.6
2007 Not Held
2006 Natural Destiny Hard To Catch Tornado Alley 1:09.2
2005 Takeover Target Picardi Run Proudly Agro 1:07.8
2004 Show Biz Kid Sir Breakfast Karamazou 1:08.5
2003 Make Mine Magic Consular Forever Amen 1:09.0
2002 Baal Yabba Smart Chariot Diamond Dane 1:09.6
2001 Alpine Express Amaizcay Federal Agent 1:10.1
2000 Fine Action King Lotto Kanconcarne 1:08.3
1999 Major Victory Dash Of Bay City Fair 1:10.8
1998 City Hall Chief De Beers Roulette 1:09.6
1997 Chief De Beers Mulagwa Celestial Choir 1:08.4
1996 Rip Home City Slicker Chief De Beers 1:10.0
1995 Atlantic Crossing Spritely Jet Welsh Miner 1:09.2
1994 Chief De Beers Buck's Pride Copper County 1:09.6
1993 Morden Tiny'S Finito Unequalled 1:09.6