, BJ McLachlan Stakes - Eagle Farm Racecourse
horse racing info

BJ McLachlan Stakes

The BJ McLachlan Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds held each December at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $250,000 in prize money. The 2019 BJ Mclachlan Stakes was won by King's Legacy from Every Rose with Euphoric Summer third.

Taking place on the same day as the Gr 3 Vo Rogue Plate for three-year-olds, the BJ McLachlan Stakes was elevated to Group 3 status for the 2011/2012 racing season. The race provides valuable race track experience for any two-year-olds heading to the rich Gold Coast Magic Millions Carnival in early January at the Gold Coast.

In 2019 the Brisbane Racing Club (BRC) made changes to the Brisbane summer racing carnival with the BJ McLachlan Stakes receiving a prize money increase from $200,000 to $250,000.

The BRC also introduced a new $250,000 race named 'The Gateway', to be held at Eagle Farm, with the winner receiving a free passageway into the Group 1 Stradbroke Handicap in June.

Racing Queensland's new summer carnival enhancements are designed to complement the Brisbane winter carnival in May & June.

BJ McLachlan Stakes info

Date: Sunday 26th December 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $250,000
2019 Winner: King's Legacy

The BJ McLachlan Stakes is the only two-year-old group race held during the summer period in Brisbane and tends to attract more than handy youngsters up to the challenge and provides a good opportunity for young gallopers to add a black type race to their resume.

The set weights conditions of the race lends itself to the better 2yo gallopers engaged and the classier types have a clear advantage over their rivals.

Any two-year-old gallopers tackling this race will most likely head towards the rich Gold Coast Magic Millions Carnival in early January for the Magic Millions 2yo Classic at the Gold Coast. Smart sprinter Unemcumbered (2013) was the last galloper to win the BJ McLachlan Stakes and Magic Millions 2yo Classic double.

King's Legacy (2019) ran third in a 2YO Maiden over 1200m at Rosehill in Sydney before heading to Brisbane to win this event in impressive style for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable.

Recent BJ McLachlan Stakes winners include Sun City (2018) and Meryly (2017).

2019 BJ McLachlan Stakes result

1. $6.00 King's Legacy 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $2.70 Every Rose 55.0 Joshua Parr
3. $12.00 Euphoric Summer 55.0 Damien Oliver

then followed
4. $2.70 Blondeau 57.0 Glen Boss
5. $10.00 Amish Boy 57.0 Ms Linda Meech
6. $26.00 Thunder Mania 57.0 Ron Stewart
7. $41.00 Way Beyond 57.0 Brad Stewart
8. $81.00 King And King 57.0 Mark Du Plessis
9. $31.00 Red Stiletto 55.0 Robbie Fradd

Margins: 0.50 len, 2.75 len
Time: 1:10.58

Bet now on the BJ McLachlan Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best BJ McLachlan Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

BJ McLachlan Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 King's Legacy Every Rose Euphoric Summer 1:10.5
2018 Sun City Rome Krameric 1:09.9
2017 Meryl Hopes Eternal Witherspoon 1:10.0
2016 Ours To Keep Goodfella Coorg 1:10.8
2015 Zelady's Night Out Slumber Party Nikitas 1:09.9
2014 Mishani Honcho Wicked Intent Star Of Night 1:11.8
2013 Unencumbered Stroak Sagatona 1:10.1
2012 Missy Longstocking Sweet Idea Architect 1:10.2
2011 Driefontein Sizzling Snipzu 1:09.3
2010 Military Grace Wonderful You Merryanna 1:12.9