horse racing info

Victoria Handicap

The Victoria Handicap is a Group 3 open handicap race held each year in late March or early April on Easter Saturday at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne. The race is run over a distance of 1400 metres and has prize money of $150,000. The 2018 Victoria Handicap was won by Widgee Turf from Turnitaround with Ken's Dream third.

This race takes place on the same day as the Group 3 Easter Cup and they are the only two group races during this period in Melbourne.

Victoria Handicap info

Date: Saturday 18th April 2020
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2018 Winner: Widgee Turf

The Victoria Handicap is the prominent sprint event held at Easter time in Melbourne. Generally speaking, the race attracts above average gallopers, rather than the upper echelon, as most of the quality gallopers will be in New South Wales for the riches on offer during Sydney autumn racing carnival in Sydney.

Victoria Handicap fields typically assemble gallopers with varying ability, sometimes making it a tough job for punters when trying to find a winner. It has carved its own niche on the racing calendar and is reasonable quality race for the easter period in Melbourne.

Widgee Turf (2018) ran third in the VG Eldorado over 1300m at Wangaratta before heading to town to score an impressive victory in this event and recent Victoria Handicap winners include Hooked (2017) and Black Heart Bart (2016).

2018 Victoria Handicap result

1. $10.00 Widgee Turf 55.0 Billy Egan
2. $51.00 Turnitaround 56.5 Damien Thornton
3. $9.50 Ken's Dream 55.0 Ben Allen

then followed
4. $8.50 Steel Frost 54.5 Todd Pannell
5. $15.00 So Si Bon 55.0 Andrew Mallyon
6. $19.00 Sword Of Light 54.0 Damian Lane
7. $61.00 Royal Rumble 54.0 Jamie Kah
8. $17.00 Violate 54.0 Craig Newitt
9. $61.00 Fastnet Tempest 56.5 Ben Thompson
10. $41.00 Amovatio 58.0 Brad Rawiller
11. $51.00 Raw Impulse 54.5 Dean Yendall
12. $5.00 Glenall 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
13. $61.00 Rhythm To Spare 58.5 Patrick Moloney
14. $3.30 Theanswermyfriend 56.0 Ben Melham
15. $26.00 Cannyescent 55.0 Beau Mertens
16. $71.00 He's Our Rokkii 59.0 Jamie Mott

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.20 len
Time: 1:22.47

Bet now on the Victoria Handicap

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Victoria Handicap odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Victoria Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Widgee Turf Turnitaround Ken's Dream 1:22.4
2017 Hooked Charmed Harmony Turbo Miss 1:22.3
2016 Black Heart Bart Charmed Harmony Eclair Choice 1:21.2
2015 Watermans Bay The Peak Sistine Demon 1:23.4
2014 Sistine Demon Gig London Stripe 1:23.3
2013 Budriguez Sertorius British General 1:23.4
2012 Smokin' Joey Under The Eiffel Bagman 1:22.0
2011 Red Colossus Budriguez Time Matters 1:23.2
2010 Orbit Express Amberino Delayedreaction 1:22.5
2009 Masked Assassin Chasm Falaise 1:23.2
2008 Gotta Have Heart Valedictum Eskaw 1:22.9
2007 Stickpin Mind Your Head Party Pie 1:22.1
2006 Volitant Calveen Dismissal 1:24.1
2005 Roman Arch Recapitalize Niconero 1:22.3
2004 Regal Roller Bird Dancer Red Hannigan 1:22.6
2003 Debrief Mr Magoo True Glo 1:22.8
2002 Debrief Flavour Belle Ball 1:22.7
2001 Keeper Intelligent Star Orchestrated 1:22.1
2000 Go Flash Go Rancho Spark Typhoon 1:22.3
1999 El Mirada Storm Rebel Carnelian 1:23.7
1998 Rustic Dream Umrum Whistle Up 1:23.9
1997 Lord Luskin Century Blazer Bionic Bess 1:21.8
1996 Country Lane Jadeva Belle Simple As That 1:26.0
1995 Simple As That Bourbon And Ice Navy Brass 1:26.4
1994 Mister Elegant Carolingian Mr Untouchable 1:22.6
1993 Surtee Brave Path Balmoral Beau 1:22.9
1992 The Fount Centip What A Shindig 1:23.9
1991 Solemn Oath Aisle Zaparri 1:24.3
1990 Prince Ormenium Rare Chance Pressman's Choice 1:25.4
1989 Aisle Hazy Pond Jet Fighter 1:24.2
1988 Jet Fighter Cameronic Daring Jon 1:23.7