, Reisling Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Reisling Stakes

The Reisling Stakes is a Group 2 race for two-year-old fillies that takes place each March at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $300,000 in prize money. The 2020 Reisling Stakes was won by Dame Giselle from See You Soon with Mildred third.

Run as the 'Reisling Stakes' in recent years, the winner of this race is exempt from ballot for the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

Reisling Stakes info

Date: Saturday 6th March 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $300,000
2020 Winner: Dame Giselle

The Reisling Stakes is a fillies only event for two-year-olds that is generally used as a lead up race to the Golden Slipper Stakes held later in the month at Rosehill. This race is run over the same distance as the premier 2yo classic and is held on the same day as the Group 1 Randwick Guineas.

Being run at level weights it suits the better quality fillies engaged and the race will usually attract 2yo fillies with their sights set on the Golden Slipper. Estijaab (2018) and Overreach (2013) are the most recent fillies to capture the Reisling Stakes & Golden Slipper Stakes double, while Earthquake (2014) finished runner-up to Mossfun (2nd in 2014) in the Golden Slipper, the latter reversing the result from this race.

The Reisling Stakes winner has the luxury of being exempt from the Golden Slipper ballot, which ensures a run is guaranteed in the $3.5 million premier race for two-year-olds during the Sydney autumn carnival.

Fillies may come to this race via the Group 2 Sweet Embrace Stakes earlier in the carnival and they also have the option of tackling the upcoming Group 2 Magic Night Stakes before going on to the Golden Slipper.

Tenley (2019) took out the Pierro Stakes over 1100m at Randwick before winning this event in easy style for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Reisling Stakes winners include Estijaab (2018) and Frolic (2017).

2020 Reisling Stakes result

1. $3.10 Dame Giselle 55.5 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $3.90 See You Soon 55.5 Jean Van Overmeire
3. $6.50 Mildred 55.5 Jordan Childs

then followed
4. $18.00 Fayerra 55.5 Jason Collett
5. $101.00 Sunborn 55.5 Glyn Schofield
6. $20.00 Ticket To Ride 55.5 Brenton Avdulla
7. $11.00 Centimental 55.5 James McDonald
8. $5.00 Supreme Idea 55.5 Tim Clark
9. $31.00 Joviality 55.5 Nash Rawiller

Margins: 0.1 len, 0.5 len
Time: 1:10.56

Bet now on the Reisling Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Reisling Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Reisling Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Dame Giselle See You Soon Mildred 1:10.5
2019 Tenley Exhilarates Vincere Volare 1:08.3
2018 Estijaab Pure Elation Sister Sledge 1:09.1
2017 Frolic She Will Reign Villa Carlotta 1:13.5
2016 French Fern Quick Feet Moqueen 1:10.6
2015 English Ottoman Fireworks 1:10.1
2014 Earthquake Mossfun Alpha Fun 1.10.7
2012 Samaready Hussousa Meidung 1:12.0
2011 Elite Falls Satin Shoes Fast And Sexy 1:12.3
2010 Military Rose Obsequious Solar Charged 1:11.7
2009 More Joyous Melito So Anyway 1:11.4
2008 Hips Don't Lie Anatomica Love And Kisses 1:10.2
2007 Press The Button Hurried Choice Sleek Chasis 1:10.5
2006 Pure Energy Boom Time Savings Gold Edition 1:11.6
2005 Fashions Afield Mnemosyne Poetic Genius 1:11.8
2004 Alinghi Crimson Reign Ballybleue 1:09.7
2003 Polar Success Hasna Dorky 1:10.3
2002 Fatoon Kidman Brief Embrace 1:11.2
2001 Regal Kiss Faiza True Jewels 1:09.9
2000 Belle Du Jour Fetes Galantes Mielleuse 1:10.6
1999 Let's Rock Again Smarts Hut 1:11.1
1998 Manana Danelagh Glammis 1:09.9
1997 Rose Of Danehill All The Rave Nimble Feet 1:09.8
1996 Merlene Lodore Magic Dashing Eagle 1:10.9
1995 Ginzano Pontal Lass Isolda 1:10.6
1994 Moment's Pleasure Warning Siren Discreet Lady 1:12.6
1993 Star Of Nouvelle Lady Jakeo Rosa's Image 1:10.1
1992 Burst Klokka Chingquillo 1:10.9
1991 Bold Promise Marskin Vionnet 1:10.4
1990 Triscay Roadsong Mahaasin 1:11.4
1989 Sunshine Sally Fickle Hostess Tristanagh 1:12.9
1988 Startling Lass Paris Weekend Angel On High 1:11.4