, MRC Chairman's Classic - Caulfield Racecourse - Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

MRC Chairman's Stakes

The MRC Chairman's Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds run under set weight & penalty conditions each year in February at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne during the Melbourne autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and offers prize money of $150,000 for entrants. The 2020 MRC Chairman's Stakes was won by Mildred from Aryaaf with Frederick The Dane third.

Elevated from listed to Group 3 level for the 2013/2014 season, the MRC Chairman's Stakes is typically held at Caulfield racecourse but will be held at Sandown this season.

MRC Chairman's Stakes info

Date: Saturday 30th January 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Mildred

The MRC Chairman's Stakes is the first group race of the Melbourne autumn for two-year-old gallopers and the weighted conditions of the race favour the classier youngsters going around. Recent history suggests that the winner of this race will most likely be a more than handy type who will be competitive in similar events during the autumn carnival.

Any of the better 2yo sprinters contesting this event may consider tackling upcoming two-year-old races such as the Group 2 Blue Diamond Prelude (C&G) or Group 2 Blue Diamond Prelude (Fillies), which also take place at Caulfield, while the classier ones might take on the elite in the Group 1 Blue Diamond Stakes held later in the month at the same track. Classy Mick Price trained galloper Extreme Choice was the last galloper to claim the MRC Chairman's Stakes and Blue Diamond Stakes double.

Mildred (2020) resumed from a spring spell to score an impressive first-up victory in this event for trainer Grahame Begg.

Recent MRC Chairman's Stakes winners include Loving Gaby (2019) and Ennis Hill (2018).

2020 MRC Chairman's Stakes result

1. $13.00 Mildred 57.0 Jordan Childs
2. $2.70 Aryaaf 57.0 Luke Nolen
3. $20.00 Frederick The Dane 57.0 Jye McNeil

then followed
4. $31.00 Sea Witness 57.0 Jamie Kah
5. $6.50 Ideas Man 59.0 Mark Zahra
6. $3.70 Rock Of Kryptonite 57.0 Ben Melham
7. $7.00 Castlecomer 57.0 Damian Lane
8. $16.00 Exporter 55.0 Damien Oliver

Margins: 1 len, 4.25 len
Time: 0:59.79

Bet now on the MRC Chairmans Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best MRC Chairmans Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

MRC Chairmans Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Mildred Aryaaf Frederick The Dane 0:59.7
2019 Loving Gaby Bella Rosa Lanigera 0:57.6
2018 Ennis Hill Encryption Prairie Fire 0:57.0
2017 Formality Time Awaits Spoils 0:58.1
2016 Extreme Choice Highland Beat Gratwick 0:57.0
2015 Thurlow Haybah Brooklyn 0:56.4
2014 Nayeli Bugatty Cautious 1:03.8
2013 Metastasio Kona Breeze Shamus Award 1.04.3
2012 Mama's Choice Formidable Kimando 1:04.7
2011 Atomic Vatican Hollyweird 0.56.7