horse racing info

Blue Diamond Preview Fillies

The Blue Diamond Preview Fillies is a Group 3 race for two-year-old fillies held in late January each year at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run under set weights and penalty conditions over a distance of 1000 metres and is worth $150,000 in prizemoney. The 2019 Blue Diamond Preview Fillies was won by Catch Me from Jedastar with Shih Tzou third.

Previously a listed race, the Blue Diamond Preview Fillies was upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2014/2015 racing season and is held on the same day as the Gr3 Manfred Stakes for three-year-olds. The Blue Diamond Preview (C&G) for colts & geldings is the male equivalent of this event and takes place at the same meeting.

Blue Diamond Preview Fillies info

Date: Saturday 26th January 2019
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2019 Winner: Catch Me

The Blue Diamond Preview Fillies is an 1000 race for two-year-old fillies only that provides the perfect lead-up to the Gr3 Blue Diamond Prelude (Fillies) the following month at the same track. Both races are used as lead-up races to the $1,000,000 Gr1 Blue Diamond Stakes in late February at Caulfield. Fontiton (2015) went on to win the Blue Diamond Prelude (Fillies) after taking out this race.

Some classy fillies have won this event in recent years including Eloping (2014), Miracles Of Life (2013), Crystal Lily (2010) and Rostova (2009), and the set weights & penalties race conditions gives the better class fillies a decided advantage.

More often than not the winner of this race will head on to the Blue Diamond Prelude (Fillies) or Blue Diamond Stakes and Miracles Of Life (2012) claimed the the Blue Diamond Preview Fillies & Blue Diamond Stakes double while One Last Dance (2011) took out the Blue Diamond Preview Fillies & Blue Diamond Prelude fillies double.

Quality fillies may head to Sydney in April for the Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes and Crystal Lily (2010) was the last filly to win the Blue Diamond Preview Fillies & Golden Slipper Stakes.

Fillies looking for further distance might head to the Gr2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes at Flemington in March and Rostova (2009) claimed the Gr3 Blue Diamond Prelude (Fillies) & Gr2 VRC Sires Produce Stakes double following her easy victory in this event.

Catch Me (2019) resumed from a spell to win this event in impressive fashion for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable at Flemington.

Recent Blue Diamond Preview Fillies winners include Lady Horseowner (2018) and Limestone (2017).

2019 Blue Diamond Preview Fillies result

1. $4.20 Catch Me 57.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $3.80 Jedastar 55.0 Joe Bowditch
3. $10.00 Shih Tzou 55.0 Craig Williams

then followed
4. $6.50 Pretty Brazen 55.0 Luke Currie
5. $5.50 Anaheed 55.0 Ben Melham
6. $21.00 Biscara 55.0 Regan Bayliss
7. $18.00 Andrassy Avenue 55.5 Luke Nolen
8. $12.00 Westport 55.0 Jamie Kah
9. $26.00 Urjuwaan 55.0 Damien Oliver
10. $81.00 Lobster Noodles 55.0 Stephen Baster
11. $31.00 Be Brilliant 55.0 Michael Walker
12. $151.00 Dama Rapida 55.0 Fred W Kersley

Margins: 1 len, 0.1 len
Time: 0:57.28

Bet now on the Blue Diamond Preview (F)

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Blue Diamond Preview (F) odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Blue Diamond Preview (F) winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Catch Me Jedastar Shih Tzou 0:57.2
2018 Lady Horseowner Crossing The Abbey Oohood 0:57.8
2017 Limestone Tulip Chateau Griffo 0:56.8
2016 Sword Of Light Emphatically Dream First 0:57.5
2015 Fontiton Haybah Pursuits 0:58.1
2014 Eloping Lumosty Sakitto 0:57:6
2013 Miracles Of Life Diamond Glow Swing Vote 0:57:3
2012 Malasun Members Joy Sabie 0:57:2
2011 One Last Dance Anevay Graskop 0:57:8
2010 Crystal Lily Shaaheq Warm Love 0:56:8
2009 Rostova Irish Lights Baby Corn 0:57:3