horse racing info


The BTC Cup is a Group 1 weight-for-age race held each May at Eagle Farm racecourse in Brisbane, Queensland. The race is run over a distance of 1300 metres and worth $750,000 in prize money. The 2019 BTC Cup was won by The Bostonian from Princess Posh with Trekking third.

Held alongside the Gr2 Sires Produce Stakes for two-year-olds, the BTC Cup received a prize money boost to $750,000 for the 2016-2017 season, plus an increase in distance to 1300 metres, up from 1200 metres. The distance change makes this race the ideal stepping stone from the Gr1 Doomben 10,000, held two weeks earlier at Doomben, to the Gr1 Stradbroke Handicap, held the following month at Eagle Farm. These three feature races are all held during the Brisbane winter racing carnival.

BTC Cup info

Date: Saturday 29th May 2021
Track: Eagle Farm racecourse, Brisbane
Distance: 1300 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 1
Prize Money: $750,000
2019 Winner: The Bostonian

The BTC Cup generally assembles a field of well above average gallopers and many top class horses have won this race over the years, including Black Caviar (2011), Apache Cat (2008), Falvelon (2000 & 2003), General Nediym (1998) and Chief De Beers (1996).

Traditionally, the Doomben 10,000 has been the best guide to this event, but with both races swapping to each other's race days means the reverse now applies, as the BTC Cup is now two weeks after the Dooomben 10,000. The Bostonian (2019) is the first horse to capture the Doomben 10,000 & BTC Cup double since the race date changes.

Prior to the change, Sea Siren (2012) captured the is the most recent BTC CUp & Doomben 10,000 double, while outstanding galloper Takeover Target (2nd in 2007) won Doomben 10,000 at his next start. Brilliant sprinter Apache Cat (2008) managed to win both races in 2008, before returning the following year to win the Doomben 10,000 again.

The Bostonian (2018) took out the Doomben 10,000 over 1200m at Doomben before scoring a classy victory in this event for New Zealand trainer Tony Pike.

Recent BTC Cup winners include Impending (2018) and Clearly Innocent (2017).

2019 BTC Cup Result

1. $10.00 The Bostonian 59.0 Michael Cahill
2. $151.00 Princess Posh 57.0 Larry Cassidy
3. $5.50 Trekking 59.0 Kerrin McEvoy

then followed
4. $41.00 Irithea 57.0 James Orman
5. $8.50 Dubious 48.5 Ms Nikita Beriman
6. $61.00 Endless Drama 59.0 Leith Innes
7. $16.00 Outback Barbie 55.0 Jeff Lloyd
8. $8.50 Victorem 59.0 Ben Looker
9. $17.00 Encryption 57.0 Corey Brown
10. $13.00 Prompt Response 57.0 Robbie Fradd
11. $9.00 Ringerdingding 57.0 James McDonald
12. $13.00 I Am Excited 57.0 Blake Shinn
13. $20.00 Man Booker 59.0 Jake Bayliss
14. $31.00 White Moss 57.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
15. $51.00 Redouble 59.0 Brad Rawiller
16. $31.00 Chapter And Verse 59.0 Mark Du Plessis
17. $10.00 Dollar For Dollar 59.0 Jamie Kah

Margins: 0.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:15.51

Bet now on the BTC Cup

Join either of our recommended bookmakers for the best BTC Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

BTC Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 The Bostonian Princess Posh Trekking 1:15.5
2018 Impending Le Romain Champagne Cuddles 1:19.5
2017 Clearly Innocent Jungle Edge Counterattack 1:19.0
2016 Malaguerra Dothraki Japonisme 1:08.7
2015 Hot Snitzel Knoydart Our Boy Malachi 1:09.4
2014 Famous Seamus Spirit Of Boom Buffering 1:09.0
2013 Your Song Rain Affair Better Than Ready 1:11.2
2012 Sea Siren Scenic Blast Beaded 1:08.3
2011 Black Caviar Hay List Buffering 1:08.8
2010 Albert The Fat Melito Latin News 1:09.2
2009 Duporth Bank Robber Apache Cat 1:08.9
2008 Apache Cat Vormista Swiss Ace 1:09.3
2007 Bentley Biscuit Takeover Target Mitanni 1:08.5
2006 Gee I Jane Daunting Lad All Bar One 1:08.6
2005 Spark Of Life St Basil Regimental Gal 1:09.0
2004 Thorn Park Star Of Florida Regimental Gal 1:08.7
2003 Falvelon Make Mine Magic Diamond Dane 1:10.0
2002 Lord Essex Falvelon Phoenix Park 1:08.3
2001 Fritz Show A Heart King Lotto 1:09.1
2000 Falvelon Mr Innocent Toledo 1:08.4
1999 Staging Pimpala Prince Ab Initio 1:09.0
1998 General Nediym Mulugwa Sahara Zed 1:10.9
1997 Accomplice Chief De Beers Poetic King 1:09.3
1996 Chief De Beers Monopolize Gold Ace 1:13.3
1995 Seawinne Hot To Race Schillaci 1:10.6
1994 Bucks Pride Bint Marscay All Our Mob 1:12.9
1993 Bucks Pride Friends Venture Barrosa Boy 1:09.0
1992 Barrosa Boy Sonic Express Soho Square 1:11.1
1991 St Jude Lightening Bend Thrifty Reserve 1:10.3
1990 Gypsy Rogue Lygon Arms Alpine Flyer 1:18.2
1989 High Regard Groucho Our Beaujolais 1:21.0
1988 Cool Report Our Poetic Prince Regal Affair 1:18.5