horse racing info

Summer Cup

The Summer Cup is a Group 3 open handicap that takes place each year on Boxing Day at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales over the summer period in December. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and worth $125,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Summer Cup was won by Fierce Impact from Satono Rasen with Life Less Ordinary third.

Held on Boxing Day, a couple of weeks after the Gr2 Villiers Stakes at the same track, these two races are the predominant group events held during the festive period and the Summer Cup is the final group race of the year in Sydney.

Summer Cup info

Date: Thursday 26th December 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2018 Winner: Fierce Impact

The Summer Cup is a middle distance event for stayers run the day after Christmas Day and is the main distance race held during the summer in Sydney. The race generally tends to attract a handy field of predominantly local stayers who are not typically anything special, although it's worth noting that the great miler Super Impose managed to win this event in 1988.

Horses who contested the Villiers Stakes the week before may consider going on to tackle this race and Aqua D'Amore (2005) was the last galloper to score the Villiers Stakes & Summer Cup double in the same year. Traditionally run over 2400m, the Summer Cup has been run over 2000m since 2013, making the Villiers the ideal lead up race.

Another race to consider when doing the Summer Cup form is the Gr3 Festival Stakes held in early December at Randwick. Of late, both Mighty Lucky (2015) and I'm Imposing (2014) won the Festival Stakes & Summer Cup double after contesting the Villiers Stakes beforehand.

Fierce Impact (2018) ran second in a BM88 race over 1800m at Rosehill before scoring a classy victory in this event for trainer Matthew Smith.

Recent Summer Cup winners include Montauk (2017) and Red Excitement (2016).

2018 Summer Cup result

1. $4.60 Fierce Impact 54.0 Corey Brown
2. $71.00 Satono Rasen 55.5 Jason Collett
3. $7.00 Life Less Ordinary 59.0 Glyn Schofield

then followed
4. $19.00 Black On Gold 54.5 Ms Kathy O'Hara
5. $9.00 Roman Son 54 (cd 54.5) Regan Bayliss
6. $11.00 Abdon 54.0 Tom Marquand
7. $51.00 Grande Rosso 57.5 Christian Reith
8. $7.50 Goodfella 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire (a)
9. $3.80 My Nordic Hero 58.0 James McDonald
10. $9.50 Alward 54.5 Jay Ford

Margins: 1 len, 0.5 len
Time: 2:04.02

Bet now on the Summer Cup

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Summer Cup odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Summer Cup winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Fierce Impact Satono Rasen Life Less Ordinary 2:04.0
2017 Montauk Red Excitement Testashadow 2:05.7
2016 Red Excitement Foreign Prince Shalmaneser 2:03.8
2015 Mighty Lucky Junoob I'm Imposing 2:03.7
2014 I'm Imposing Midsummer Sun Casino Dancer 2:04.7
2013 I'm Imposing Travolta Destiny's Kiss 2:04.8
2012 Le Roi Brightest Praecido 2:35.1
2011 Yulalona Nextanix Count Encosta 2:30.1
2010 Spechenka Strike One Let Them Have It 2:26.3
2009 Solid Billing Zazabeau Rockwood 2:30.6
2008 Ready To Lift Bellagio Wynn Zazabeau 2:31.8
2007 Race Not Run
2006 Jamberoo Game On Taken At The Flood 2.32.9
2005 Aqua D'Amore County Tyrone Beat The Tide 2.28.1
2004 This Manshood Vereza New York Style 2.27.8
2003 Stadium Ocho Stoway 2.30.1
2002 Stoway Ego Fast Barawin 2.33.2
2001 Majestically Zareyev Power of Pegasus 2.29.3
2000 Lanolin Vitrinite Consolidator 2.27.4
1999 Zanetta Pasta Express Luther 2.33.2
1998 Dance Til Dawn Pasta Express Bombast 2.29.0
1997 Linesman Jacanarchie Stony Bay 2.31.0
1996 Century Boy Mr. Neslo Seto Bridge 2.30.4
1995 Catalan Prince Praise Indeed Night After 2.29.3
1994 Spiritual Star El Castano Tusk Hunter 2.31.0
1993 Striking Gold Double Take Demerit 2.27.0
1992 Mr. Eurostar Anythings Possible Swiss Cotton 2.29.0
1991 Cross Swords Local Knowledge Initial Approach 2.29.0
1990 Magnolia Hall Copatonic Courtalista 2.30.0
1989 Lord Hybrow Palace Revolt Miss Amazer 2.28.0
1988 Super Impose Moniuszko Brentano 2.28.0