horse racing info

Villiers Stakes

The Villiers Stakes is a Group 2 quality handicap event that takes place in December each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1600 metres and worth $250,000 in prizemoney. The 2018 Villiers Stakes was won by Sky Boy from Aloisia with My Nordic Hero third.

Held a couple of weeks prior to Xmas, the Villiers Stakes is one of the stronger group races to take place during this period.

Villiers Stakes info

Date: Saturday 14th December 2019
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $250,000
2018 Winner: Sky Boy

The Villiers Stakes is a good quality mile race that typically assembles a capacity field of above average gallopers, especially considering the time of the year, and the Villiers is a well regarded event on the racing calendar each December.

The race suits good milers or strong 2000m horses and while not as strong as Randwick's other big mile races, the Epsom Hcp and Doncaster Mile, it's usually a more than handy field that lines up in the Villiers.

A race such as the Gr3 Festival Stakes is a good lead up race to the Villiers Stakes as it provides the ideal progression in distance. Monton (2011) was the last galloper to claim the Festival Stakes & Villiers Stakes double.

Staying types contesting the Villiers Stakes might head on to the Gr3 Summer Cup over 2000m on Boxing Day at Randwick and Aqua D'Amore (2005) was the last galloper to win both the Villiers Stakes & Summer Cup in the same year. I'm Imposing (2nd in 2014) managed to win the Summer Cup at his next start after finishing runner-up in the Villiers Stakes.

Sky Boy (2018) took out a BM88 race over 1800m at Rosehill before graduating to group winner in classy fashion for the Anthony Cummings stable.

Recent Villiers Stakes winners include Crack Me Up (2017) and Sense Of Occasion (2016).

2018 Villiers Stakes result

1. $3.20 Sky Boy 53.0 Christian Reith
2. $17.00 Aloisia 56.5 Tim Clark
3. $9.00 My Nordic Hero 57.5 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $16.00 Sambro 55.0 Jay Ford
5. $5.50 Doubt Defying 55.5 Michael Walker
6. $5.50 Gaulois 53.0 Corey Brown
7. $41.00 Duca Valentinois 57.5 Glyn Schofield
8. $10.00 Goodfella 53.5 (cd 54) Adam Hyeronimus
9. $31.00 Fabrizio 59.0 Joshua Parr
10. $101.00 Grande Rosso 57.5 Kerrin McEvoy
11. $21.00 Articus 53.0 Andrew Gibbons
12. $81.00 Satono Rasen 56.0 Jason Collett
13. $21.00 Interlocuter 56.5 James McDonald

Margins: 0.2 len, 1 len
Time: 1:36.39

Bet now on the Villiers Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Villiers Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join ladbrokes 'Best of the Best' guarantees best of three totes & Top Fluc Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Villiers Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2018 Sky Boy Aloisia My Nordic Hero 1:36.3
2017 Crack Me Up Cabeza De Vaca Interlocuter 1:34.9
2016 Sense Of Occasion Dibayani Sarrasin 1:37.4
2015 Happy Clapper Tinto It's Somewhat 1:33.9
2014 Rudy I'm Imposing Strawberry Boy 1:36.2
2013 Ninth Legion Limes Alma's Fury 1:31.4
2012 All Legal Alma's Fury Darci Be Good 1:35.8
2011 Monton Kontiki Park King Lionheart 1:36.3
2010 Dances On Waves Mentality Snow Alert 1:35.0
2009 Palacio De Cristal Parfumier Spinney 1:34.7
2008 Something Anything Hey Elvis Rags To Riches 1:36.3
2008 (Jan) Honor In War Takeover Target Alverta 1.21.5
2007 Race not run
2006 Utzon Anwaar Spirit of Tara 1.35.2
2005 Aqua D'Amore Malcolm Fiery Venture 1.35.4
2004 Ike's Dream Dante's Paradiso Sir Dex 1.33.1
2003 On a High Mufti Jeremiad 1.35.8
2002 Boreale This Manshood Silver Birch 1.34.8
2001 Carael Boy Space Age Osca Warrior 1.36.5
2000 Grey And Gold Taberann Forbill 1.36.1
1999 Final Fantasy So Precise Huge Demand 1.35.4
1998 Referral Juggler Banner Headline 1.34.9
1997 Arletty Quick Flick Banner Headline 1.35.1
1996 Touch Of Force Nick's Joy Persian Flyer 1.34.0
1995 Here's The Prince Zouslan Pragmatism Pragmatism 1.34.5
1994 Aunty Mary Nick's Joy Cohort 1.34.3
1993 Cobbora Square The Circle Pharaoh 1.33.8
1992 Soho Square Pharaoh Manly Star 1.35.1
1991 Shining Wind Mighty Rimu Pontormo 1.35.0
1990 Post Elect Don't Play Our Dawn Star 1.34.4
1989 Spot The Rock Merimbula Bay Mighty Grey 1.34.7
1988 Tumble On Mystical Prince Tierra Rist 1.33.3

Note: The 2013 Villiers Stakes was held at the Kensington circuit over 1550 metres.