, Sandown Stakes - Sandown Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Sandown Stakes

The Sandown Stakes is a Group 3 quality handicap that takes place at Sandown racecourse each November in Melbourne towards the end of the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1500 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2019 Sandown Stakes was won by Gold Fields from Mr Exclusive with Travimyfriend third.

Held on the Melbourne Racing Club's major meeting of the year at Sandown, the Sandown Stakes is held alongside the Group 2 Sandown Classic, Group 3 Sandown Guineas and Gr3 Eclipse Stakes, one week after the Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington.

Sandown Stakes info

Date: Sunday 26th September 2021
Track: Sandown racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Gold Fields

The Sandown Stakes is the last quality sprint race of the Melbourne spring racing carnival and usually attracts good class sprinter/milers looking to get a group race on their resume, especially those that conetested the recent Flemington spring carnival.

Some good gallopers have been successful over the years such as Titanic Jack (2005), Chong Tong (2003), Mamzelle Pedrille (1995) and Wrap Around (1991).

Horses who can run a strong mile are suited by the long Sandown straight with its tough uphill run home. Weak horses can often be found out in the run to the line and those gallopers who possess a big finish have plenty of time in the straight to find the line.

The Sandown Stakes suits solid handicappers who race best over 1400m to 1600m and if they can run a strong mile and have an affinity with Sandown then that augers well for their chances.

It's worth noting that Charmed Harmony (2015) and Pornichet (2014) both ran fourth in the Gr3 Chatham Stakes at Flemington during the Melbourne Cup Carnival before tasting success in the Sandown Stakes.

Fifty Stars (2018) took out a 4&%YO BM90 race over 1400m at Flemington before proving too classy in this event for leading trainer Darren Weir.

Recent Sandown Stakes winners include Dollar For Dollar (2017) and Redkirk Warrior (2016).

2019 Sandown Stakes result

1. $4.80 Gold Fields 55.5 Stephen Baster
2. $13.00 Mr Exclusive 54.0 Beau Mertens
3. $21.00 Travimyfriend 54.0 Michael Dee

then followed
4. $4.40 William Thomas 54.0 Dean Yendall
5. $21.00 Vassilator 54.0 Jye McNeil
6. $2.60 Widgee Turf 59.0 Billy Egan
7. $6.50 Music Bay 54.0 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.1 len, 1.25 len
Time: 1:30.29

Bet now on the Sandown Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Sandown Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Sandown Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Gold Fields Mr Exclusive Travimyfriend 1:30.2
2018 Fifty Stars Holy Snow Fastnet Tempest 1:31.0
2017 Dollar For Dollar Hellova Street Moss 'n' Dale 1:29.9
2016 Redkirk Warrior Stratum Star Un De Sceaux 1:30.6
2015 Charmed Harmony Tashbeeh Burning Front 1:29.4
2014 Pornichet General Groove Spacecraft 1:29.6
2013 Mahisara Go The Knuckle Galah 1:23.5
2012 Mahisara Morant Raspberries 1:29.2
2011 Under The Eiffel Sistine Angel Orbit Express 1:32.4
2010 Larry's Never Late Demerit Rockpecker 1:33.2
2009 Nine Tales Jungle Ruler Itsamonty 1:30.6
2008 Chasm Marching Orbit Express 1:31.8
2007 Gotta Have Heart Royal Ida Great Is Great 1:24.9
2006 Swick Anwaar Cargo Cult 1:22.0
2005 Titanic Jack Zankel Chickaloo 1:31.5
2004 Amtrak Smart And Mighty Shadowmaker 1:27.8
2003 Chong Tong Lord Volksraad Green Pick 1:23.5
2002 Salgado Mr Magoo Lord Erin 1:22.7
2001 Little Dozer Le Zagaletta Dynamic Love 1:23.2
2000 Normal Practice Ab Initio Cellar 1:21.4
1999 Buster Jones Royal Voyage Evocative 1:21.9
1998 Any Rhythm Oliver Twist Major Victory 1:25.9
1997 Cut Up Rough Hes Regal Coaltar 1:26.0
1996 Wavertree Royal Discard Nick On The Run 1:22.5
1995 Mamzelle Pedrille Taos Monsieur 1:22.8
1994 Another Victor Rouslan Blue Boss 1:21.3
1993 Monsieur Defoe Street Ruffian 1:22.0
1992 Minyama Carolingian Beppiz Boy 1:21.8
1991 Wrap Around Welcome Knight Steineck 1:23.4
1990 Procol Harum Grey Man Marwong 1:23.4
1989 Marabous Phantom Black Blaze Heavenly View 1:24.6
1988 Rendoo Jet Fighter Crush 1:23.7

Note: The 2013 Sandown Stakes was held at Caulfield over 1400m due to the upgrades taking place at Sandown that year.