horse racing info

National Stakes

The National Stakes is a Group 3 race for two-year-olds that takes place each year in May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight conditions and worth $200,000 in prize money. In 2019 The National Stakes was won by Li'l Kontra from Absolute Flirt with Xilong third.

The National Stakes is held on Group 1 Goodwood day, on the final day of the Adelaide racing carnival, alongside the Group 3 SA Oaks & Group 3 RA Lee Stakes.

National Stakes info

Date: Saturday 16th May 2020
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2019 Winner: Li'l Kontra

The National Stakes is a sprint race for two-year-olds and tends to attract mainly above average local gallopers who may have previously contested a race like the Group 3 SA Breeders Stakes earlier in the carnival.

Now and then the race can throw up an emerging type and Majestic Music (2009) went on to win the Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes the following spring at the Flemington carnival as a three-year-old before running second in the Group 2 Sandown Guineas at Sandown.

The listed Dequetteville Stakes run over 1100m at the same track earlier in the carnival has proven a good guide to the National Stakes in recent years with Dinkum Diamond (2012) and Vivi Veloce (2013) both winning this race after running second and fifth respectively in the Delequette Stakes.

Li'l Kontra (2019) ran third in the Listed Queen Adelaide Stakes over 1050m at Morphettville before winning this event in impressive fashion for the Ryan Balfour stable.

Recent National Stakes winners include Marcel From Madrid (2018) and I'll Have A Bit (2017).

2019 National Stakes result

1. $7.50 Li'l Kontra 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
2. $2.30 Absolute Flirt 55.5 Damien Oliver
3. $26.00 Xilong 55.5 Todd Pannell

then followed
4. $2.80 Balaabel 55.5 Barend Vorster
5. $20.00 Splendoronthegrass 55.5 Jamie Kah
6. $21.00 Shush 55.5 Luke Currie
7. $101.00 Cleary Adonis 57.5 Caitlin Jones
8. $8.50 Ginny Ann 55.5 Andrew Mallyon

Margins: 0.30 len, 0.89 len
Time: 1:09.91

Bet now on the National Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best National Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

National Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Li'l Kontra Absolute Flirt Xilong 1:09.9
2018 Marcel From Madrid Aristia Tequila Time 1:10.6
2017 I'll Have A Bit Booker It's A Myth 1:10.4
2016 I Am A Star Bangs One Blink 1:11.3
2015 Prince Of Brooklyn Badajoz Counter Pulse 1:10.2
2014 Moonovermanhattan Not A Happy Camper Sweet And Speedy 1:13.0
2013 Vivi Veloce Iconic The Huntress 1:10.4
2012 Dinkum Diamond Beau Jez Stella Lante 1:11.2
2011 Triple Asset Win For Wilson Gone Skiing 1:10.1
2010 Toorak Toff Stirling Grove Bedrah 1:10.1
2009 Majestic Music Baby Corn Miss Belezza 1:10.4
2008 Viennese Fury Kirvinsky 1:10.2
2007 Gabbidon Purrealist Little Arrow 1:10.9
2006 Lectrice Glory Be Not At Allordinary 1:12.7
2005 Tonz More Fun Paternity Get To Work 1:10.0
2004 Generals Dynasty Classiconi Sunmaya 1:10.4
2003 Great Is Great Rinky Dink Barabba Road 1:12.0
2002 Rohatyn Blur Troubled Man 1:12.0
2001 Cable Firm Blessum 1:12.1
2000 Super Elegant Shelbourne Lass Undertone 1:16.3
1999 Spargo Mootiara Cellar 1:10.7
1998 Gold Crystal St Clemens Belle Lord Of The Pines 1:10.4
1997 La Baraka Morphett Road Requests 1:12.6
1996 Will Fly Lake Villa Magic Ribbon 1:10.2
1995 Embargo Pacific Power Big Twister 1:13.2
1994 Linbird Delsole Turtle Bay 1:10.6
1993 Harkaway Star Of Maple Subastral 1:11.4
1992 Mookta Let Him Ride Petas Portion 1:13.1
1991 Jakpil Umatilla Tea Habit 1:10.3
1990 Sushi Rocket Berberia The Guida 1:10.3
1989 Dancers Choice Sculptured Arch Mouth Watering 1:11.2
1988 Pride Of Ingenue Queen Regent Natural Charm 1:11.8