, JRA Plate - Randwick Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

JRA Plate

The JRA Plate is a Group 3 quality handicap event that takes place in April each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 2000 metres and is worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 JRA Plate was won by Life Less Ordinary from Greysful Glamour with Shared Ambition third.

Elevated to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season, the JRA Plate takes place on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival alongside the Group 1 All Aged Stakes.

JRA Plate info

Date: Saturday 17th April 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up Quality
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Life Less Ordinary

The JRA Plate is a middle distance event for 3yo & upwards gallopers that will typically assemble a field of mostly local types who may have raced in similar type quality handicaps earlier in the carnival.

Staying types who contested races such as the Group 3 Skyhigh Stakes or Group 3 Neville Sellwood Stakes at Rosehill are most suited to this event. Western Symbol (2012) managed to claim the JRA Plate & Neville Selwood Stakes double.

Stayers wanting to drop back in distance might decide to tackle the JRA Plate, or improving types on an upward cycle who want to test themselves at group level over this distance. As history suggest, the winner of this race will just be more than handy type who is competitive in these type of races during the carnival.

Grey Lion (2019) ran sixth in the Group 3 Doncaster Prelude over 1600m at Rosehill before proving too classy in this event for Warwick Farm trainer Matthew Smith.

Recent JRA Plate winners include Tally (2018) and Top Of My List (2017).

2020 JRA Plate result

1. $8.50 Life Less Ordinary 57.0 Jason Collett
2. $6.00 Greysful Glamour 53.0 Ms Rachel King
3. $4.40 Shared Ambition 57.0 James McDonald

then followed
4. $6.00 Best Of Days 58.5 Hugh Bowman
5. $7.00 Oceanex 54.5 Tom Marquand
6. $71.00 Master Of Arts 53.0 Robbie Dolan
7. $12.00 Yulong Prince 59.0 Nash Rawiller
8. $21.00 Norway 56.5 Kerrin McEvoy
9. $31.00 Maurus 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire
10. $12.00 Danceteria 59.5 Brenton Avdulla
11. $15.00 Night's Watch 56.5 Opie Bosson
12. $101.00 Our Abbadean 55.0 Sam Clipperton

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.3 len
Time: 2:04.22

Bet now on the JRA Plate

We recommended Unibet for the best JRA Plate odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

JRA Plate winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Life Less Ordinary Greysful Glamour Shared Ambition 2:04.2
2019 Grey Lion Emperor's Way All Too Soon 2:01.6
2018 Tally Nettoyer Rising Red 2:01.1
2017 Top Of My List Sons Of John Rudy 2:09.9
2016 Guardini Index Linked Havana Cooler 2:03.9
2015 Gypsy Diamond Leebaz Singing Flame 2:05.6
2014 Spillway Danchai Slow Pace 2:05.5
2013 Kelinni Fibrillation Pirate Bay 2:08.6
2012 Western Symbol Herculian Prince Larry's Never Late 2:03.7
2011 Hawk Island Galizani Vintedge 2:07.9