horse racing info

WATC Derby

The WATC Derby is a Group 2 classic event for three-year-olds held each April at Ascot racecourse in Perth, Western Australia during the autumn racing carnival. The race is run over the traditonal derby distance of 2400 metres and offers $400,000 in prize money. The 2019 WATC Derby was won by Regal Power from Cockney Crew with Ping Me Another third.

In 2011 the Australian Pattern Comittee downgraded the WATC Derby to Group 2 level and prize money was reduced from $500,000 to $400,000.

WATC Derby info

Date: Saturday 11th April 2020
Track: Ascot racecourse, Perth
Distance: 2400 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $400,000
2019 Winner: Regal Power

The WATC Derby is the premier staying event for three-year-olds held in Western Australia each year. It typically gathers together the best local 3yo talent and any interested three-year-olds from other states around the country.

Taking place during the Perth autumn carnival at Ascot, the WATC Derby winner is more often than not just a handy galloper, rather than a topliner, as most of the best three-year-olds will be in Sydney during the autumn for the prestigious ATC Australian Derby and ATC Australian Oaks.

Typically, the winner of the WATC Derby will just be an above average local type or a more than handy interstate raider who may go on to be competitive in better quality races without rising to any great heights.

Any capable fillies who contested the Gr2 WA Oaks the previous month may consider taking on the boys in the WA Derby and both Delicacy (2015) and Dreamaway (2011) are the most recent fillies to claim the WA Oaks & WATC Derby double. Arcadia Dream (2016) finished runner-up in the WA Oaks before winning this race.

Interesingly enough, the WATC Derby has provided a couple of recent Gr2 Perth Cup winners with Guyno (2007) and Cats Fun (2006) both going on to win the Perth Cup after winning the Derby as a three-year-old. Guyno won the Perth Cup in 2009 and Cats Fun was successful in 2008, while Guest Wing (8th in 2010) finished unplaced in this race before going on to win the 2011 Perth Cup.

Regal Power (2019) took out the Listed Melvista Stakes over 2200m at Ascot before taking out this event in classy style for the Grant & Alana Williams stable.

Recent WATC Derby winners include Action (2018) and Gatting (2017).

2019 WATC Derby result

1. $1.35 Regal Power 56.5 William Pike
2. $15.00 Cockney Crew 56.5 Peter Hall
3. $31.00 Ping Me Another 54.5 Shaun Mc Gruddy

then followed
4. $101.00 Lady Sass 54.5 Peter Knuckey
5. $16.00 Without Reason 56.5 Troy Turner
6. $14.00 Dark Choice 54.5 Chris Parnham
7. $61.00 Axel 'r' Eight 56.5 Ms Lucy Warwick
8. $12.00 Platoon 56.5 Steven Parnham
=9. $101.00 Apparition 56.5 Jason Whiting
=9. $91.00 Brelleta Five 54.5 Randy Tan
11. $201.00 Chapasco 56.5 Alan Kennedy
12. $81.00 Adornment 54.5 Shaun O'Donnell
13. $41.00 Utgard Loki 56.5 Daniel Staeck
14. $20.00 Mackenzie Brooke 54.5 Jordan Turner

Margins: 0.15 len, 0.15 len
Time: 2:30.69

Bet now on the WATC Derby

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best WATC Derby odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

WATC Derby winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Regal Power Cockney Crew Ping Me Another 2:30.6
2018 Action Like A Butterfly Media Baron 2:29.9
2017 Gatting Very Tempting Chill The Champers 2:30.3
2016 Arcadia Dream Who Dat Singa Culverin 2:31.3
2015 Delicacy Keysbrook Boom Time 2:38.2
2014 Respondent Ihtsahymn Real Love 2:29.5
2013 Mystic Prince Moreish Desert Glow 2:31.4
2012 Rohan Flashy Fella The Social Network 2:34.5
2011 Dreamaway Playing God Rio Dane 2:30.7
2010 Chartreux Bridgestone Brother Mak 2:27.9
2009 Marcus Maximus Berlioz Phenomenons 2:31.2
2008 Grand Journey Yuro Star Encounter 2:28.8
2007 Guyno Ballack Original Lovalover 2:29.0
2006 Catsfun Raise A Call Scenic Shot 2:29.7
2005 Plastered Royal Drive Master Minx 2:31.3
2004 Mr Sandgroper Fatal Attraction Crown Prosecutor 2:36.2
2003 Shirazamatazz Conspirator Golden Prospect 2:32.8
2002 Honor Lap Lord Mason Storm Fille 2:31.5
2001 Not Held
2000 Old Money Tingling Grand Turismo 2:30.4
1999 Voile D'Or Latest Ploy From The Hip 2:29.7
1998 Kim Angel Old Nick Matriculate 2:31.0
1997 Hot Jules Mystic Chantry Pennyweight Point 2:31.3
1996 Capricious Lass Strike Swiftly Stylish Mahal 2:31.2
1995 Crying Game Unpretentious Achtung Baby 2:29.9
1994 Beaux Art King Of Saxony Cloudy Bay 2:31.9
1993 Firing Range Native Pilgrim Vagabond Boy 2:27.8
1993 Beaujolais Boy Anniversary Model Dr Gold 2:32.5
1992 Heroicity Lincoln's Court Marooned By Flood 2:30.7
1991 Mirror Magic Storm Trooper Higginsville 2:28.2
1990 Chipolata Royal Flush Kama Dancer 2:28.9
1989 Belele Port Princess Bar Landy 2:29.2
1988 The Bukhra Madam Peppermint She's Got Style 2:31.8