, Standish Handicap - Flemington Racecourse - New Year's Day Racing
horse racing info

Standish Handicap

The Standish Handicap is a Group 3 Open Handicap race traditionally held on New Year's Day each year at Flemington racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1200m down the straight course and is worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 Standish Handicap was won by Halvorsen from Bold Star with Superhard third.

The Standish Handicap is the first group race of the new year in Melbourne and is typically held on the same day as the Group 2 Perth Cup in Perth, Western Australia.

Standish Handicap info

Date: Friday 1st January 2021
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Halvorsen

The Standish Handicap is a good sprint race to bring in the new year and usually attracts the best sprinters going around at the time, although they are generally just handy types rather than the upper echelon.

The race has been taken out by some above average gallopers over the years including Grandiose (1989 & 1991) on two occasions and Redelva (1988).

Look for horses who are fit and in form with proven experience down the Flemington straight track, as it does not suit all horses, especially those who have failed to perform up the straight on previous occasions.

Halvorsen (2020) captured a Handicap race over 1100m at Flemington prior to scoring a comfortable victory in this event for the Robbie Griffiths stable at Cranbourne.

Recent Standish Handicap winners include Whispering Brook (2019) and Lord Of The Sky (2018).

2020 Standish Handicap result

1 $3.30 Halvorsen 54.0 Andrew Mallyon
2 $3.00 Bold Star 54.0 Dwayne Dunn
3 $10.00 Superhard 54.0 Jye McNeil

then followed
4 $7.00 Snitzkraft 56.5 John Allen
5 $41.00 Guizot 55.0 Ms Linda Meech
6 $21.00 Smart Coupe 54.0 Damien Thornton
7 $31.00 Choisborder 54.0 Dean Yendall
8 $5.50 Spirit Of Valor 59.0 Mark Zahra

Margins: 1.25 len, 0.75 len
Time: 1:10.24

Bet now on the Standish Handicap

We recommended Unibet for the best Standish Handicap odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Standish Handicap winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Halvorsen Bold Star Superhard 1:10.2
2019 Whispering Brook Smart Coupe True Excelsior 1:09.1
2018 Lord Of The Sky Flippant Chamois Road 1:08.9
2017 Odyssey Moon Cavaloce Inspector 1:10.5
2016 Durendal Zupacharged Churchill Dancer 1:09.4
2015 Decircles Lord Of The Sky Reparations 1:09.0
2014 Flamberge Essay Raider Decircles 1:09.9
2013 Adamantium Catapulted Goldstone 1:08.2
2012 Catapulted =2 Rocking Force =2 Cascabel 1:07.6
2011 Ahdashim Chasm Eclair Mystic 1:09.1
2010 Royal Ida Beltrois Juggle The Books 1:11.1
2009 King Hoaks Bowhunter Orbit Express 1:10.3
2008 Publishing Eskaw Pencelaron 1:09.3
2007 Watchyerback Murray Downs Cocinero 1:09.0
2006 Honalee Gold Wells Starhere 1:03.4
2005 Super Impressive Blessum Savage Attack 1:09.8
2004 Blessum Monahan Tweed Super Impressive 1:09.2
2003 Super Impressive Confederate Kid The Expat 1:10.3
2002 Lets Planet Chattanooga Generalissimo 1:09.7
2001 Iglesia Sedation Major 1:07.1
2000 Upright Rain Dance Lady Bush Outlaw 1:09.6
1999 Whistle Up Sandridge Bay Hon Kwok Star 1:09.7
1998 Hon Kwok Star Apple Danish Jugulator 1:09.3
1997 Khaptingly Hon Kwok Star Fighter Bay 1:11.1
1996 Ben's Rocket Power And Glory Delsole 1:12.5
1995 Blue Boss Verdetto The Heavyweight 1:08.4
1994 Laser Beam Lucky Dagger Queen Echo 1:09.4
1993 Western Voyage Rookaria Rose Of Marizza 1:08.6
1992 Jolly Old Mac Aishan Century Rising 1:09.9
1991 Grandiose Diamond Zephyr Grey Man 1:09.6
1990 Strawberry Ranch Tympanise Sardinia 1:10.1
1989 Grandiose Lonely Dreamer Confucious Flyer 1:09.8
1988 Redelva Moulton Benefactor 1:10.9

For the 2011/2012 season, the Standish Handicap was held the day after New Year's Day.