, Red Anchor Stakes - Moonee Valley Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Red Anchor Stakes

The Red Anchor Stakes is a Group 3 event for three-year-olds that takes place at Moonee Valley racecourse during the Melbourne spring racing carnival each year in October. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight plus penalty conditions and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 Red Anchor Stakes was won by Sartorial Splendor from Condo's Express with Three Beans third.

Held on the same day as the feature event of the Moonee Valley Racing Club, the Group 1 WS Cox Plate, the Red Anchor Stakes race has been run as the 'Telstra PhoneWords Stakes' in recent years.

Red Anchor Stakes info

Date: Saturday 23rd October 2021
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Sartorial Splendor

The Red Anchor Stakes is run over the same trip as the Group 1 Manikato Stakes on Cox Plate eve but this race is for three-year-olds only. The set weight conditions of the race lends itself to the better 3yo gallopers engaged and previous history suggests the race will be taken out by an above average three-year-old rather than a top liner.

Held on on Moonee Valley's biggest race day of the year on Cox Plate day, the Red Anchor Stakes has grown into a nice little race for three-year-olds and compliments a top program of racing at the Valley.

Sartorial Splendor (2019) ran tird in a BM64 race over 955m at Moonee Valley before scoring a comfortable victory in this event for the John Sadler stable.

Recent Red Anchor Stakes winners include Charge (2018) and Eptimum (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Winners of this race don't generally have much of an impact on the major spring races to come and the last galloper of note to win anything relevant was Avenue (2009) who went on to win & place in mutliple group races, while Sedation (1998) managed to win the Gr2 Sandown Guineas at his next start.

Lone Rock (3rd in 2010) won the Group 1 Goodwood at Morphettville the following autumn.

2019 Red Anchor Stakes result

1. $3.30 Sartorial Splendor 57.0 Jamie Kah
2. $3.00 Condo's Express 58.0 Damien Oliver
3. $9.00 Three Beans 57.0 Dwayne Dunn

then followed
4. $12.00 Heyington Station 57.0 John Allen
5. $51.00 Truffle House 57.0 Luke Currie
6. $51.00 Mister Yu Shu 57.0 Clayton Douglas
7. $11.00 Cielo D'oro 57.0 Craig Williams
8. $7.00 Lucifer's Reward 57.0 Jamie Mott
9. $17.00 Viking Warrior 57.0 Mark Zahra

Margins: 1.75 len, 0.10 len
Time: 1:11.22

Bet now on the Red Anchor Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Red Anchor Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Red Anchor Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Sartorial Splendor Condo's Express Three Beans 1:11.2
2018 Charge Sunset Watch Ringerdingding 1:10.0
2017 Eptimum Single Bullet Trekking 1:09.9
2016 Archives Crafty Big John Cannon 1:12.1
2015 Holler Brockhoff Demonstrate 1:09.8
2014 Galaxy Pegasus Law Nicoscene 1:09.9
2013 Thermal Current Not Listenin'tome Selectify 1:11.3
2012 Hidden Warrior Haussmann Chosen Moment 1:11.2
2011 Karuta Queen Miss Stellabelle Amah Rock 1:10.6
2010 That's Not It Happy Trails Lone Rock 1:11.6
2009 Avenue Governance Broken 1:10.0
2008 Millbank Gold In Dubai Montana Flyer 1:11.1
2007 Royal Asscher El Mandon Wilsons Promontory 1:11.2
2006 Corton Charlemagne Far Horizons Evacuate 1:11.6
2005 Coronga Facing The Breeze Angkhasa 1:12.6
2004 Oratorio Kingify World Peace 1:14.8
2003 Youth Flagmentation Happy Strike 1:11.3
2002 Yell Tycoon Ruler Before Too Long 1:10.9
2001 Deprave Firm La Lagune 1:12.5
2000 Sound The Alarm Wurabinda Senet Pete 1:12.1
1999 Prizefighter Dandy Kid Sudurka 1:13.9
1998 Sedation Tarot Star Marstic 1:11.1
1997 Towkay Classic Day Umrum 1:11.8
1996 Spartacus Blazing Reality Tarnpir Lane 1:13.1
1995 Captive Tuscany Flyer Aural Sculpture 1:10.3
1994 Cannibal King Hunza Court Danzero 1:11.1
1993 Sequalo Alacqua Sparkling Bletch 1:14.7
1992 Snow Lord Awesome Force Simonstad 1:14.8
1991 Hula Grey Laser Beam Naturalism 1:14.0
1990 Begone Muraroa Nonpareils 1:11.3
1989 Hot Arch Street Ruffian Rechabite 1:09.9
1988 Clay Hero Kingston Heritage Candy Is Dandy 1:10.7