horse racing info

McEwen Stakes

The McEwen Stakes is a Group 2 weight-for-age race held at Moonee Valley racecourse each year in September during the Melbourne spring racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1000 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2019 McEwen Stakes was won by Faatinah from Bons Away with Eduardo third.

Formerly a Group 3 event, the McEwen Stakes was upgraded to Group 2 status for the 2013/2014 racing season and takes place on the same day as the Group 2 Feehan Stakes.

McEwen Stakes info

Date: Saturday 5th September 2020
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1000 metres
Race Type: Weight-for-age
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $150,000
2019 Winner: Faatinah

The McEwen Stakes generally attracts good quality sprinters and the 1000 metre dash around the tight Moonee Valley track can often see track specialist types have good success and it pays to look at horses who have form at the track and distance.

Some talented sprinters have won the McEwen Stakes over the years including top class gallopers Hay List (2010), Nicconi (2009), Miss Andretti (2006) Mistegic (2002), Testa Rossa (2000), Flavour (1998) and Sequalo (1995).

Outstanding sprinter Hay List (2010) went on to win the Group 1 Manikato Stakes in effortless style after taking out this race and the McEwen Stakes generally assembles a field of talented sprinters.

The Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes later in the month at the same track might be on the radar for better sprinters engaged in this event and the highly rated Lankan Rupee (2nd in 2014) finished runner-up in both races.

Faatinah (2019) returned to racing in fine fettle to win this race in strong fashion for the David & Ben Hayes & Tom Dabernig stable at Euroa.

Recent McEwen Stakes winners include Nature Strip (2018) and Russian Revolution (2017).

sportsbet racing form

Spring Carnival Guide

Smart filly Houtzen (3rd in 2017) proved too good for her rivals in the Gr3 Champagne Stakes at Moonee Valley following her third place finish in this race.

Classy galloper Chautauqua (2015) took out the Gr2 Gilgai Stakes over 1200m at Flemington after winning the McEwen Stakes.

Lankan Rupee (2nd in 2014) finished runner-up in the AJ Moir Stakes at Moonee Valley at his next start, while Eloping (3rd in 2014) took out the Gr2 Champagne Stakes at the same Valley meeting.

Moment Of Change (2nd in 2013) ran third in the Group 1 VRC Sprint Classic on the final day of the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival at Flemington, while Platelet (4th in 2013) took out the Gr2 Gilgai Stakes at Caulfield.

The 2012 McEwen Stakes did not prove to be a great pointer for the spring but turned out to be a great guide for the following autumn with Bel Sprinter (2013) going on to win the Group 1 The Galaxy at Rosehill in Sydney and Platelet (2nd in 2012) claiming the Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes & Group 1 Goodwood at Morphettville in Adelaide.

Buffering (2011) ran second to Black Caviar in the VRC Sprint Classic at Flemington and Hay List (2010) won the Manikato Stakes at Moonee Valley and Gilgai Stakes at Flemington.

2019 McEwen Stakes result

1. $8.00 Faatinah 58.5 Jamie Kah
2. $4.40 Bons Away 58.5 Ms Linda Meech
3. $3.70 Eduardo 58.5 Brian Park

then followed
4. $31.00 Meryl 56.5 Dean Yendall
5. $41.00 Ashlor 58.5 Daniel Stackhouse
6. $61.00 Everyday Lady 56.5 John Allen
7. $10.00 Miss Leonidas 56.5 Dwayne Dunn
8. $4.60 Booker 56.5 Damien Oliver
9. $6.50 Prophet’S Thumb 56.5 Damian Lane
10. $31.00 Inn Keeper 58.5 Craig Williams

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.2 len
Time: 0:58.40

Bet now on the McEwen Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best McEwen Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

McEwen Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Faatinah Bons Away Eduardo 0:58.4
2018 Nature Strip Houtzen Shoals 0:56.9
2017 Russian Revolution Heatherly Houtzen 0:58.1
2016 Wild Rain Furnaces Heatherly 0:58.8
2015 Chautauqua Flamberge Furnaces 0:58.2
2014 Angelic Light Lankan Rupee Eloping 0:57.5
2013 Kuroshio Moment Of Change General Truce 0:57.8
2012 Bel Sprinter Platelet Snitzem 0:57.3
2011 Buffering Crystal Lily Atomic Force 0:58.5
2010 Hay List Catapulted Reward For Effort 0:59.6
2009 Nicconi Morgan Dollar Secret Flyer 0:57.4
2008 Kaphero Morgan Dollar Lucky Secret 0:59.4
2007 Here De Angels Gold Edition Dr Nipandtuck 0:57.4
2006 Miss Andretti Sassbee Cargo Cult 0:58.8
2005 Strikeline Truly Wicked Titanic Jack 0:59.8
2004 Edgeton Reactive Mistegic 1:01.8
2003 Yell The Big Chill Dantana 0:59.6
2002 Mistegic Shaye Spice Aragonce 1:00.2
2001 Strategic Image Sports Ateates 0:58.4
2000 Testa Rossa Sports Chattanooga 1:13.4
1999 Theatre Flavour The Shiner 0:59.9
1998 Flavour Towkay Paint 0:58.6
1997 Another Excuse Ossie Cossie Lord Luskin 0:59.2
1996 Red Hope Sequalo Bialia 1:00.1
1995 Sequalo Grand Baie Sublimate 0:57.3