horse racing info

Euclase Stakes

The Euclase Stakes is a Group 2 race for three-year-olds held annually in May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and run under set weight conditions with $500,000 in prize money. The 2019 Euclase Stakes was won by Valour Road from Tofane with Gytrash third.

Taking place during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival, the Euclase Stakes is held on the same day as the Group 1 Robert angster Stakes and has been run as the 'William Hill Stakes' in recent years.

Euclase Stakes info

Date: Saturday 2nd May 2020
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prize Money: $500,000
2019 Winner: Valour Road

The Euclase Stakes is a handy group race for three-year-old sprinters that will generally attract the best available local 3yo talent and any interstate raiders looking for a slightly easier black type race. The level weights playing field gives the better class gallopers engaged a decided advantage.

Talented three-year-olds Show No Emotion (1998), Sword (1995), Euclase (1991) and Vitalic (1989) all won the Eucalse Stakes as a three-year-old.

Smart srinting filly Lonhspresso (2013) made the trek all the way from Ballart in Western Victoria to win this race for popular racehorse syndicators Darren & Liz Dance from Australian Thoroughbred Bloodstock.

Lindsay Park trained filly Fuhryk (2nd in 2017) managed to win the Group 3 Proud Miss Stakes after finishing runner-up in this race.

Valour Road (2019) took out an RTG 70+ race over 1000m at Ascot in Perth before heading to Adelaide to win this event for the Simon Miller stable.

Recent Euclase Stakes winners include I'll Have A Bit (2018) and Sweet Sherry (2017).

2019 Euclase Stakes result

1. $5.00 Valour Road 57.5 Luke Currie
2. $8.00 Tofane 55.5 Dwayne Dunn
3. $10.00 Gytrash 57.5 Dom Tourneur

then followed
4. $10.00 Humma Humma 55.5 Jamie Mott
5. $41.00 Golden Halo 55.5 Raquel Clark
6. $3.80 Terbium 57.5 John Allen
7. $5.00 Behemoth 57.5 Craig Williams
8. $41.00 Kenyan Wonder 55.5 Jamie Kah
9. $51.00 Rapidora 55.5 Michael Dee
10. $21.00 Zizzis 55.5 Todd Pannell
11. $61.00 Persuader 55.5 Michael Walker
12. $11.00 Causeway Girl 55.5 Damien Oliver
13. $201.00 French Response 55.5 Jason Holder

Margins: 0.2 len, 0.6 len
Time: 1:10.04

Bet now on the Euclase Stakes

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Euclase Stakes odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Euclase Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2019 Valour Road Tofane Gytrash 1:10.0
2018 I'll Have A Bit She's So High Viridine 1:09.1
2017 Sweet Sherry Fuhryk So You Too 1:09.9
2016 Faatinah Sooboog Demonstrate 1:09.8
2015 Nicoscene Tudor We've Got This 1:10.6
2014 Miracles Of Life Jazz Song Classy Jack 1:11.0
2013 Lonhspresso Essay Raider Shamal Wind 1:10.4
2012 Go The Knuckle Satin Shoes Snitzem 1:10.2
2011 Shrapnel Happy Trails General Truce 1:08.8
2010 Majestic Music Sister Madly Happy Hippy 1:10.9
2009 Champagne Harmony Cerberus Gal Very Discreet 1:09.1
2008 Diplomatic Force Vivacious Spirit Royal Asscher 1:08.7
2007 Universal Queen Pencelaron Nediyms Glow 1:08.2
2006 Magically Amyjaye Power Swish Trish 1:09.7
2005 Honalee Stormy Nova Cocinero 1:08.7
2004 Danabaa Shablec Ellicorsam 1:08.4
2003 Toast Of The Coast Super Groove Prosperous Bid 1:10.0
2002 Troubles The Big Chill Zip Zip Aray 1:10.2
2001 Ateates Miss Power Bird Romilada 1:09.4
2000 Honour The Name Rustic Mist Suraya 1:16.3
1999 Close Your Eyes Marstic Life Of Riley 1:10.1
1998 Show No Emotion Classic Day Easy Landing 1:08.7
1997 Blazing Reality Flavour Apple Danish 1:11.6
1996 Masked Party Furama Nights Tuscany Flyer 1:08.8
1995 Sword Plushka Wallstreet 1:10.6
1994 Elegancy Khaptingly Magic Of Money 1:09.9
1993 Never Undercharge Credit Account Manribo 1:10.0
1992 Dappers Hope Alias Comberbache Black Rouge 1:13.0
1991 Euclase Sonic Express Premier Copper 1:09.2
1990 Rechabite Hot Arch Lady Officer 1:10.1
1989 Vitalic Plush Embassy Hobo Road 1:11.7
1988 Change Of Habit Melody Hit Rancheetah 1:13.7