, Thoroughbred Club Stakes - Caulfield Racecourse - Spring Racing Carnival
horse racing info

Thoroughbred Club Stakes

The Thoroughbred Club Stakes is a Group 3 set weights & penalties race held each October at Caulfield racecourse in Melbourne, Victoria. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres and worth $200,000 in prize money. The 2020 Thoroughbred Club Stakes was won by Swats That from Muntaseera with Bella Nipotina third.

Taking place on the first day of the Melbourne Racing Club's three-day spring carnival, the Thoroughbred Club Stakes features alongside the Group 1 Caulfield Guineas, Group 1 Toorak Handicap and Group 1 Caulfield Stakes.

Thoroughbred Club Stakes info

Date: Saturday 9th October 2021
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $200,000
2020 Winner: Swats That

The Thoroughbred Club Stakes is a three-year-old fillies race that attracts moderate to handy fillies that generally don't figure in many of the big spring races ahead. Winners and placegetters are capable of picking up a lower quality fillies event during the Melbourne spring racing carnival, but rarely go on to win a major Group 1 race.

Occasionally a top class filly may contest this event and go on to bigger and better things, such as Sunlight (2019), who took out the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington during the Melbourne Cup Carnival in November. She also won multiple Group 1 races the following autumn, including the Newmarket Handicap at Flemington and the William Reid Stakes at Moonee Valley.

This race takes place on Caulfield Guineas day and fillies tend to come via the Gr3 Champagne Stakes at Moonee Valley on Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes night.

California Zimbol (2019) took out a BM78 race over 1100m at Canterbury in Sydney before heading to Melbourne to win this event in impressive style for the Peter & Paul Snowden stable.

Recent Thoroughbred Club Stakes winners include Sunlight (2018) and Invincible Star (2017).

Spring Carnival Guide

Loving Gaby (2nd in 2019) captured the Group 1 Manikato Stakes at her next start, while Sunlight (2018) took out the Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington.

Secret Agenda (2nd in 2015) managed to win the Gr3 Red Roses Stakes at Flemington during the four-day Melbourne Cup Carnival.

Platelet (2011) went on to win the Group 1 Sangster Stakes & Group 1 Goodwood at Morphettville in the autumn of 2013 before winning the Gr2 Gilgai Stakes at Flemington the following spring.

Prior to that Avenue (2009) claimed the Gr3 Red Anchor Stakes on WS Cox Plate day at Moonee Valley and Headway (2nd in 2009) won the Coolmore Stud Stakes at Flemington on Derby day.

Gamble Me (2007) took out the listed Red Roses Stakes on VRC Oaks day later that spring and Belcentra (3rd in 2007) won the listed Desirable Stakes on Melbourne Cup day two days earlier.

2019 Thoroughbred Club Stakes result

1. $4.20 California Zimbol 55.0 Kerrin McEvoy
2. $1.85 Loving Gaby 57.0 Damian Lane
3. $10.00 Don'ttelltheboss 55.0 Dean Yendall

then followed
4. $7.00 Athiri 55.0 James McDonald
5. $31.00 Lankan Star 55.0 Luke Nolen
6. $14.00 Backpedal 55.0 Jamie Kah
7. $61.00 Zoupino 55.0 Zac Spain
8. $71.00 Crowned Lizzie 55.0 Declan Bates

Margins: 2.25 len, 2 len
Time: 1:09.89

Bet now on the Thoroughbred Club Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Thoroughbred Club Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Thoroughbred Club Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Swats That Muntaseera Bella Nipotina 1:10.4
2019 California Zimbol Loving Gaby Don'ttelltheboss 1:09.8
2018 Sunlight Humma Humma Meryl 1:10.1
2017 Invincible Star Counterplay Jorda 1:09.5
2016 Hear The Chant My Country Modern Wonder 1:09.7
2015 Serene Majesty Secret Agenda Harlem River 1:09.7
2014 Earthquake Tawteen More Radiant 1:09.4
2013 Missy Longstocking Anatina Bulbula 1:11.1
2012 Cavalry Rose Mareeza Saturn Rock 1:10.0
2011 Platelet The Fairy's Kiss Hollyweird 1:10.2
2010 Solar Charged Jesse's Girl Dance Of The Ocean 1:09.1
2009 Avenue Headway Kanzan 1:09.7
2008 Damselfly Impressive Eagle Okaylah 1:11.7
2007 Gamble Me Vivacious Spirit Belcentra 1:10.0
2006 Splashing Out Corton Charlemagne Flame Of Sydney 1:10.6
2005 Queen Of The Hill Jadescent Readyforcatherine 1:11.1
2004 Emlozza Miss Mooney Mooney Tahni Girl 1:10.9
2003 Crown Princess Harley Ma Beautiful Gem 1:10.0
2002 Innovation Girl Sensational Spot Toast Of The Coast 1:09.5
2001 Patterns Hello Boys Swing A Deal 1:11.1
2000 Arrabeea Queen Belle Ball 1:11.4
1999 Camargue La Zoffany Kena 1:24.0
1998 Speedy Kids Coed Visual Displays 1:25.4
1997 Cornwall Queen Snapshots Pinpante 1:24.0
1996 Flaming Heart I Love To Dance Gamila 1:24.9
1995 Vigil Tonicity Castlereagh Run 1:23.7
1994 Verocative Bionic Bess Poetique 1:23.9
1993 Cairncross Lots Of Smiles Tristera 1:24.2
1992 Googs Dream Star Goose Rubique 1:29.0
1991 Cushion Tilgarza Miss Lusty Habit 1:24.4
1990 Mammy Zilezal All Mine 1:25.2
1989 Lady Of Perfection Sweet Ripa Dalmator 1:24.6
1988 Boardwalk Angel Volterra Super Unicorn 1:24.0