horse racing info

Tasmanian Derby

The Tasmanian Derby is a Listed race for three-year-olds that takes place each February at Hobart racecourse in Hobart, Tasmania. The race is run over a distance of 2200 metres and worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 Tasmanian Derby was won by Vamos Raffa from Skyt with Argyle Beach third.

Tasmania hosts Group 3 and Listed racing only, with no Group 1 or 2 races throughout the racing season. Feature races include the Group 3 Hobart Cup, Group 3 Launceston Cup, Group 3 Bow Mistress Trophy and Group 3 Vamos Stakes. The Tasmanian Derby lost its Group 3 status during the 2011/2012 racing season and is now a listed event.

Tasmanian Derby info

Date: Saturday 1st February 2020
Track: Hobart racecourse, Hobart
Distance: 2200 metres
Race Type: 3yo - Set Weights
Status: Listed
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Vamos Raffa

The Tasmanian Derby is the premier distance event for 3yo gallopers during the summer carnival in Hobart. The race generally attracts the best three-year-olds going around locally in Tasmania, while interstate trainers may consider bringing a promising type down to Tassie occasionally for the chance to win a Derby.

Typically not a race for elite three-year-olds, the Tasmanian Derby is more likely to be taken out by a more than handy local type, rather than an outstanding one.

Vamos Raffa (2020) ran third in the Listed Launceston Guineas over 2100m at at Launceston before scoring a comfortable victory in this event for trainer Scott Brunton.

Recent Tasmanian Derby winners include Cossetot (2019) and Civil Disobedience (2018) and Northwest Passage (2017).

2020 Tasmanian Derby result

1. $10.00 Vamos Raffa 57.0 David Pires
2. $7.00 Skyt 57.0 Anthony Darmanin
3. $6.00 Argyle Beach 57.0 James Winks

then followed
4. $1.45 Rogues Point 57.0 Craig Newitt
5. $51.00 Up Wind 57.0 Racha Cuneen
6. $41.00 Dixie’S Boy 57.0 Jack Martin
7. $31.00 Tee Jay Frankie 57.0 Stan Tsaikos
8. $81.00 Sir Dana 57.0 Daniel Schmitt
9. $101.00 Unbothered 55.0 Bulent Muhcu
10. $71.00 Gee Gee Millmagic 57.0 Ms Sigrid Carr

Margins: 2 len, 0.5 len
Time: 2:21.17

Bet now on the Tasmanian Derby

Join any of our recommended bookmakers for the best Tasmanian Derby odds.

join sportsbet Enjoy top odds on a huge range of innovative betting markets! Bet now
join betfair Back or Lay at much better odds than the TAB at 'Betfair' Bet now
join unibet Take advantage of 'Best Tote' bet type on horse racing! Bet now

Terms & conditions apply when joining an online bookmaker. Always gamble responsibly.

Tasmanian Derby winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Vamos Raffa Skyt Argyle Beach 2:21.1
2019 Cossetot Glass Warrior Twilight Run 2:20.8
2018 Civil Disobedience Wolfendale Pennstock 2:19.0
2017 Northwest Passage French Snitzel Igitur/Autmed (Dh) 2:17.3
2016 Jerilderie Letter Howard Be Thy Name Al Shameel 2:15.4
2015 Geegees Classicboy Shiralee Valdez 2:18.7
2014 Liberty Leader Rainbow Storm Varian 2:18.0
2013 Ollie's Gold Keep The Cash Strive To Excel 2:18.2
2012 Methuselah Barysh Quest Colonial Gold 2:19.6
2011 Mourinho Heez Born Lucky Jay Bee's Gee Gee 2:18.4
2010 Geegees Blackflash Kinnersley Coulis 2:17.5
2009 Betwixt Reprisal Brunello 2:21.4
2008 Mega Boss Arazamataz Dream Peddlar 2:21.4
2007 Currigee Minibaa Rhumb Line 2:20.6
2006 Esterel Pride Of Westbury Jeune Cheval 2:18.0
2005 Phantom Thief Stuyvesent Expunge 2:11.2
2004 Almost Never Little Baldy Uma King 2:36.6
2003 Dream Quest Irish Noble Birle's Gamble 2:31.9
2002 Moonah Brooke Our Bullbaa Marette 2:31.1
2001 Party Boy Us And Maka Jones 2:32.7
2000 Father Floyd Fitzroy Fitzroy Yuppie 2:29.7
1999 Star Of Nime Naucho Lord Baracus 2:31.1
1998 Suavity Bohemiath Flying Swallow 2:30.5
1997 Ventura Prince Baracus Maximal 2:31.7
1996 Devon Sun Sunny Lane Nutcracker Suite 2:32.6
1995 Napier Street Loch Valley Vaudeville Piper 2:34.4
1994 Ashley Grove Arranger Star Dancing Cossack 2:34.9
1993 Pax-A-Million Ritzy Red Golden Serpent 2:30.2
1992 Charleston Party Baron Samedi Party Game 2:29.7
1991 My Latin Boy Haron Bay Devon Blaze 2:29.7
1990 King Of Belmont Drumming Sonny Bumpus 2:32.6
1989 Bar Landy Sydeston Sistino 2:29.9
1988 Firetap Dashing Kiwi Mountain Gamble 2:30.0