, Hall Mark Stakes - Randwick Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Hall Mark Stakes

The Hall Mark Stakes is a Group 3 for 3yo & upwards and takes place in April each year at Randwick racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The race is run over a distance of 1200 metres under set weight + penalty conditions and is worth $150,000 in prize money. The 2020 Hall Mark Stakes was won by Greyworm from Trekking with Kementari third.

Held on the final day of the Sydney autumn racing carnival alongside the Group 1 All Aged Stakes, the Hall Marks Stakes was elevated to Group 3 status for the 2013/2014 racing season.

Hall Mark Stakes info

Date: Saturday 17th April 2021
Track: Randwick racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 3yo&Up - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Greyworm

The Hall Mark Stakes is a sprint race for 3yo & upwards gallopers that generally attracts above average horses looking for some black type success for their resume, and more often than not they will have contested similar type races during the autumn.

Earlier carnival races at Rosehill such as the Group 3 Maurice McCarten Stakes and Group 3 Star Kingdom Stakes are handy lead up races to the Hall Mark Stakes and the winner of this race tends to be just a more than handy horse rather than a topliner.

Talenter gallopers Ego's Dare (2010), Winning Hand (1997), All Our Mob (1994) and Euclase (1991) have all won the Hall Mark Stakes over the years. Charlie Boy (5th in 2015) headed to Brisbane to win the Group 3 BRC Sprint at Doomben after finishing fifth in the Hall Mark Stakes.

Trekking (2019) ran fourth in the Maurice McCarten Stakes over 1100m at Rosehill before scoring a stylish victory in this event for the James Cummings stable.

Recent Hall Mark Stakes winners include Burning Passion (2018) and Redzel (2017).

2020 Hall Mark Stakes result

1. $5.00 Greyworm 56.0 Tommy Berry
2. $6.00 Trekking 60.0 Kerrin McEvoy
3. $4.80 Kementari 60.0 Hugh Bowman

then followed
4. $15.00 Le Romain 58.0 Nash Rawiller
5. $9.00 In Her Time 58.5 Opie Bosson
6. $4.40 Deprive 58.5 James McDonald
7. $51.00 Tyzone 58.0 Glyn Schofield
8. $21.00 Deep Image 57.0 Tim Clark
9. $31.00 Brave Song 58.0 Joshua Parr
10. $19.00 Signore Fox 57.5 Tom Marquand
11. $81.00 Booker 58.0 Adam Hyeronimus

Margins: 1.3 len, 1.3 len
Time: 1:10.11

Bet now on the Hall Mark Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Hall Mark Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Hall Mark Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Greyworm Trekking Kementari 1:10.1
2019 Trekking Brave Song Redouble 1:08.6
2018 Burning Passion Oxford Poet Dothraki 1:08.2
2017 Redzel Counterattack Hellbent 1:13.7
2016 Music Magnate Knoydart Fast 'n' Rocking 1:10.4
2015 Our Boy Malachi Craftiness Hidden Warrior 1:10.9
2014 Hot Snitzel Knoydart Aeronautical 1:11.2
2013 Rarefied Skytrain See The World 1:10.4
2012 Tiger Tees Pinwheel Neeson 1:09.9
2011 Ladys Angel Sainthood Tagus 1:12.8