, Epona Stakes - Rosehill Racecourse - Sydney Autumn Carnival
horse racing info

Epona Stakes

The Epona Stakes is a Group 3 race for fillies & mares only that takes place in March each year at Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales during the Sydney autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1900 metres under set weight & penalty conditions and offers prize money of $150,000. The 2020 Epona Stakes was won by Missybeel from Gayatri with Greysful Glamour third.

Upgraded to Group 3 status for the 2011/2012 racing season, the Epona Stakes is held on the second day of the three-day Golden Slipper Festival at Rosehill Gardens, featuring the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes.

Epona Stakes info

Date: Saturday 20th March 2021
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1900 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares - Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $150,000
2020 Winner: Missybeel

The Epona Stakes is a middle distance race for 3yo & upward females and suits those fillies who may be heading on to the better black type races ahead such as the Group 1 Storm Queen Stakes, the Group 3 Adrian Knox Stakes, or the premier fillies distance race of the autumn, the Group 1 ATC Australian Oaks.

Generally a race for more than handy staying types rather than the elite, the better mares contesting this event might use the Epona Stakes as a lead-up race to the major distance event of the Sydney autumn carnival, the Group 1 Sydney Cup over 3200m at Randwick on the second day of 'The Championships'.

In recent times Aliyana Tilde (2013) ran third in the Sydney Cup after winning this race, while Once Were Wild (3rd in 2012) came third in both races. Divine Rebel (2009) finished runner-up in the Sydney Cup in consecutive years (2009 & 2010), and Jessicabeel (3rd in 2010) managed to go on and take out the Sydney Cup after finishing third in this race.

The Pinnacle (2018) finished runner-up in the Group 3 Aspiration Quality over 1600m at Randwick before scoring in this event and recent Epona Stakes winners include Consommateur (2017) and Vergara (2016).

2020 Epona Stakes result

1. $21.00 Missybeel 54.0 Tim Clark
2. $8.50 Gayatri 54.0 Tommy Berry
3. $7.00 Greysful Glamour 56.0 Ms Rachel King

then followed
4. $7.50 Aliferous 56.0 Brenton Avdulla
5. $4.60 Luvaluva 56.5 Damian Lane
6. $9.50 Savacool 54.0 Ms Kathy O'Hara
7. $21.00 All Too Soon 54.0 Glyn Schofield
8. $7.00 Paint The Town Two 56.0 James McDonald
9. $81.00 Mrs Madrid 54.0 Jean Van Overmeire
10. $9.50 Another Dollar 54.0 Jason Collett
11. $10.00 Cryptic Jewel 54.0 Kerrin McEvoy

Margins: 0.2 len, 1.8 len
Time: 1:57.64

Other group races held on Golden Slipper Day alongside the Epona Stakes include the Group 1 The Galaxy, Group 1 Ranvet Stakes, Group 1 George Ryder Stakes & Group 1 Rosehill Guineas.

Bet now on the Epona Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best Epona Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

Epona Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Missybeel Gayatri Greysful Glamour 1:57.6
2019 Semari I'm A Princess All Too Soon 2:02.3
2018 The Pinnacle Domed Nettoyer 1:58.5
2017 Consommateur Ambience Top Of My List 2:06.4
2016 Vergara Heavens Above Sweet Fire 1:56.8
2015 Scratchy Bottom Rising Romance Telepathic 1:57.3
2014 Intimate Moment Any Day Will Do Epingle 2:07.0
2013 Aliyana Tilde Epingle Dolly Dolly 1:55.8
2012 Fibrillation Crafty Irna Once Were Wild 1:57.6
2011 Galizani Vivid Vixen Vintedge 1:57.0
2010 Messenger Pagan Princess Jessicabeel 1:59.8
2009 Divine Rebel Prima Nova Risayla 1:58.5