, DC Mckay Stakes - Morphettville Racecourse - Adelaide Racing Carnival
horse racing info

DC Mckay Stakes

The DC Mckay Stakes is an open Group 3 quality handicap race held annually in May at Morphettville racecourse in Adelaide, South Australia during the Adelaide autumn racing carnival. The race is run over a distance of 1100 metres and worth $120,000 in prize money. The 2020 DC Mckay Stakes was won by Behemoth from Kabini with Bold Star third.

Held on Group 1 Robert Sangster Stakes day, alongside the Group 1 Australasian Oaks, the DC Mckay Stakes is the feature handicap sprint event of the meeting.

DC Mckay Stakes info

Date: Saturday 1st May 2021
Track: Morphettville racecourse, Adelaide
Distance: 1100 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prize Money: $120,000
2020 Winner: Behemoth

The DC Mckay Stakes is an 1100m sprint race that typically attracts a field of above average gallopers who may have previously tackled a race like the Group 3 RN Irwin Stakes at the same course. Horses contesting this race might then consider pressing on to Adelaide's premier autumn sprint, the Group 1 Goodwood in May at the same track.

Quite often the Mckay Stakes has a capacity field which leads to a race of many chances with plenty of value on offer for consistent gallopers in form. Local horses will make up most of the entries for this event and it has been won by some handy types over the years, including Catapulted (2010), Super Elegant (2003), Toledo (1998), Euclase (1991), and Boardwalk Angel (1989).

Despatch (2019) captured the Listed Oakbank Stakes over 1100m at Oakbank before graduating to group success in this event for the Tony McEvoy stable.

Recent DC McKay Stakes winners include Sprightly Lass (2018) and Karacatis (2017).

2020 DC Mckay Stakes result

1. $5.50 Behemoth 57.0 Todd Pannell
2. $41.00 Kabini 55.0 Jake Toeroek
3. $7.00 Bold Star 55.0 Zac Spain

then followed
4. $12.00 Viridine 58.5 Jason Holder
5. $31.00 Kenyan Wonder 55.0 Dom Tourneur
6. $5.00 Home Of The Brave 59.5 Barend Vorster
7. $4.20 Shamino 55.0 Ms Kayla Crowther
8. $11.00 Parsifal 55.0 Damien Thornton
9. $81.00 Benz 55.0 Paul Gatt
10. $151.00 Arrow Lane 55.0 Sairyn Fawke
DQ $7.50 Jungle Edge 58.5 Ms Georgina Cartwright

Margins: 1.2 len, 0.6 len
Time: 1:04.47

Other group races on DC Mckay Stakes day include the Group 2 Queen Of The South Stakes and Group 3 SA Chairmans Stakes.

Bet now on the DC Mckay Stakes

We recommended Unibet for the best DC Mckay Stakes odds.

spring racing carnival

Bet now at Unibet

Terms & conditions apply - Always gamble responsibly.

DC Mckay Stakes winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2020 Behemoth Kabini Bold Star 1:04.4
2019 Despatch Zalmona Haunted 1:03.6
2018 Sprightly Lass One More Daisy Santa Ana Lane 1:03.2
2017 Karacatis Reldas Kaepernick 1:03.9
2016 Super One Daytona Grey Heart Of A Lion 1:03.6
2015 Thermal Current Yesterday's Songs Minaj 1:03.6
2014 Essay Raider Karacatis Siwa Lady 1:03.2
2013 General Truce Karacatis Honey Flower 1:04.6
2012 Outlandish Lad Kulgrinda Go The Knuckle 1:04.4
2011 Streetcar Magic Valentine Miss Pinwheel 1:02.1
2010 Catapulted Solchow Augusta Proud 1:02.3
2009 I Am Invincible Augusta Proud Blahnik 1.03.0
2008 Idalou Tramuntana Blahnik 1:03.3
2007 Here De Angels Terango El Maze 1:02.5
2006 Shablec Leone Chiara Social Glow 1:03.0
2005 Bomber Bill General Bayton Gee I Jane 1:03.4
2004 Paraca Super Elegant Squillani 1:03.7
2003 Super Elegant Deprave Agalia 1:03.1
2002 Libidinious =1 Windigo =1 Johns Brother 0:56.0
2001 Sudurka Suit Kapuna 1:04.1
2000 Perak Gold Marstic Astig 1:03.5
1999 Loafer Razamataz Appoint 1:03.4
1998 Toledo Declar Appoint 1:03.5
1997 Clang Blazing Reality Billy Dazzler 1:05.6
1996 Dr Zackary Mad Shaviri Hero Wind 1:02.7
1995 Latin Villa Hero Wind Chevite 1:03.4
1994 Harkaway Yankee Dapper Kicks 1:03.5
1993 Colebrook Asian Incline Oozook 1:05.1
1992 Scornsome Umatilla Bar Flyer 1:05.1
1991 Euclase Beau George Sweet Chariot 1:03.5
1990 Medicine Kid Comedy Dancer Silver Dupion 1:04.0
1989 Boardwalk Angel Jet Fighter Kingston Heritage 1:04.6
1988 Beau George Melody Hit Lord Galaxy 1:04.1